The Book Courtship Book Tag

i've been tagged
Thank you to Jasmin and  abOOkishOwl  for tagging me! I know this has taken me forever! (I just have so many tags to do)The Book Courtship Tag which was originally created by LovelyLikeLaura.
Phase 1 – Initial Attraction: A book that you bought because of the cover?

Divergent by Veronica Roth.

Honestly it’s not even the most beautiful cover out there but I bought Divergent when I saw it on the shelf while shopping at K-Mart. I was in need of something to read (I read the book before I even knew there was going to be a film adaptation three years later) and the cover caught my attention. Then I fell in love with the book and obviously had to read the rest..Nonetheless, I’d like to forget that Allegiant ever happen and would like to end my reading experience with this series at Insurgent.


Phase 2 – First Impressions: A book that you got because of the summary?

 A portion of the book’s blurb courtesy of Goodreads: Purchased at the surrogacy auction by the Duchess of the Lake and greeted with a slap to the face, Violet (now known only as #197) quickly learns of the brutal truths that lie beneath the Jewel’s glittering facade: the cruelty, backstabbing, and hidden violence that have become the royal way of life

When I read the summary it reminded me of The Handmaid’s Tale and I really love that book; therefore, I knew I had to purchase this book. And the pretty cover also played a part….


Phase 3 – Sweet Talk: A book with great writing?

Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens

I absolutely adored this book and Charles Dickens is such a great storyteller. I’ll admit I had to re-read some of the paragraphs since the language is a bit difficult to understand, but this book was amazing!


Phase 4 – First Date: A first book of a series which made you want to pick up the rest of the series?

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

I finished this book a couple of months ago and really liked it. I will admit I was one of those people who didn’t buy into the hype in the beginning.  However, the book was on sale at Bookoutlet so I decided to purchase it and see what this book was all about. I was not disappointed. I was planning to marathon all three books, but since the last book is coming out this November, I will just wait to finish the rest of the series.


Phase 5 – Late Night Phone Calls: A book that kept you up all night?

The Heir by Kiera Cass

Okay don’t ask. It wasn’t even the fact that I was enjoying the story, I was just so fully awake at that time and this book was such a fast-paced read I ended up reading it in just a few hours.


Phase 6 – Always on my mind: A book you could not stop thinking about?

Animal Farm

I read this book back in middle school and after the reading the end I was just so surprised.  I wasn’t expecting the ending at all and this book was just one of those that totally made me think.


Phase 7 – Getting Physical: A book which you love the way it feels?

The Barnes and Noble Classics Edition. They are just so gorgeous. I only own one so far, but I would love to have the whole collection!


Phase 8 – Meeting the parents: A book which you would recommend to your family and friends?

It will depend on these individual’s reading taste. I don’t just recommend one particular book because I know some of my family and friends prefer a certain genre and will probably refuse to read another. However, to make their life so much easier since most of my friends and relatives don’t even read I will choose:

The Little Prince or Le Petit Prince in French by Antoine de Saint Exupery

Not only is this book short it has pictures! And this book is a great read for any age especially the messages that this book sends.


Phase 9 – Thinking about the future: A book or series you know you will re read many times in the future?

This should be obvious! Harry Potter of course! If any person would ever me ask this question in the future in regards to Harry Potter “….After all this time?”  my answer:

Phase 10 – Share the love: Who do you tag?

Aine@Writing on a Vintage Typewriter
Amber@Wild Heart Reviews
Amy@Curioser and Curioser
Aneta@ Inspire Script
Annalee Book Snacks
Ashley@Dear World…
Ashley@Dreaming through Literature
Bhramori@ The Crazy Perfectionist
Bianca@The Ultimate Fangirl
Calliope the Book Goddess
Catia@ The Girl Who Read Too Much
Charley@ Books and Bakes
CJ
Deanna@A Novel Glimpse
Emily@The Diary of a Bibliophile
Erika@Rickus Bookshelf
Giselle@Hard Work Boulevard
Jessica@Mud and Stars
Joey@Thoughts and Afterthoughts
Josie@ Josie’s Book Corner
Kimsiang
Marie@ Drizzle and Hurricane Books
Matt D. Wells
Raven@Dreamy Addictions
Summer@XingSings
Travelling in my Bookcase
Trisha Ann@ The Bookgasm
and anyone else who wants to do this tag!
If you have already done this tag then disregard.

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-260-AFBA4FC17F758CD109E0A96605A679E1


42 thoughts on “The Book Courtship Book Tag

  1. Haha I totally see what you mean about The Heir. Not the best thing written, but such a quick and addictive read! XD And omg YES for Harry Potter! Totally something I’ll always never get tired of re-reading. Thanks so much for the tag, Erika! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Same feels with Divergent here! The book was better a duology and should have ended in Insurgent than a trilogy. I wonder how they’re gonna do Allegiant in the movies.
    I know what you mean about not reading to hyped up books. That annoying feeling of being compelled to like the book jist bc everybody did.
    Thanks for tagging me, Erika! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Uggh tell me about it! I utterly disliked Allegiant because of the ending. It was so unnecessary for it to end like that. After all they’ve been through!

      And your welcome! 🙂

      Like

  3. I know you love your classics but I seriously can’t take Charles Dickens. Great Expectations ruined him for me (though I know many others adore it). It was actually my least favorite assigned reading I had to complete in high school, actually that or Brave New World. And I’m going to have a hard time with the one about “First Impressions: a book you read because of the summary” since I tend to not read the premises. I like to go in blind, haha. Awesome answers, and thank you for tagging me, Erika! ❤ You have no idea how much I wanted to be tagged for this. It's been floating around lately and it just seems like so much fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He’s definitely a hit or miss author. I absolutely disliked Great Expectations when I first read it so I was a bit turned off by his writing. You’d be surprised that I waited like 10 years to read any of his books again…HAHA It’s only now that I really like him as an author. xD

      Brave New World I think I started but didn’t finish because I didn’t get into it as much.

      LOL the first impressions one was hard. I generally always look at the covers so if I find a book cover ugly I will never reach for it and read the blurb.

      Your welcome Summer. Looking forward to reading your answers!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you Erika for tagging me! I remember seeing this tag all over Booktube for ages! I think I’ve done it before but what’s the harm in doing it again?
    Oh and I loved your answers! 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes he’s such an amazing writer. I remember reading Great Expectations and hating him but just recently I read another book of his and fell in love with his writing.

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts :)