Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

i've been tagged

Hey everyone! So I’ve been tagged by Aimal to do the Unpopular Opinions Book Tag, originally created by TheBookArcher.

I am aware that this post is going to cause a lot of displeasure for individuals who love the books/ series, or authors that I’m going to mention. I will apologize in advance but I will say this—everyone is entitled to their opinion and not everyone is going to share a similar attitude towards a topic which in this case–books. I’d like to think that all my answers for these questions are fairly reasonable. If you are offended again, sorry.  This is solely MY OWN opinion.

Now onto the questions……

Popular book or series you didn’t like.

 Matched Trilogy by Ally Condie

Despite the overall rating of the book at Goodreads I believe that this book is still popular and it’s very much recommended by many people. It’s quite ironic that I actually own the first two books. I have them for the sole purpose of making my bookshelf look nice (I know I’m weird).  This book to me, had to a lot of potential with an interesting premise, but Ms. Condie failed to deliver. The writing was boring that I actually had to force myself to finish it. A huge portion of the story focused too much on the romance aspect of the story between Ky, Cassia, and Xander. Don’t get me wrong, I do love the idea of their romance-the love triangle and all because it’s necessary for this book; however, it took too much of the plot structure and any other parts of the book that could have been used for characterization and world-building. I hate it when the plot takes a backseat and everything is focused on the damn romance!

A popular book or series that everyone seems to hate, but you love. 

The Selection Trilogy by Kiera Cass

I am not sure if this series falls into category, but I would have to go with The Selection trilogy by Kiera Cass. It’s a book that either receives a lot of hate or a lot of love.  I am definitely one of the individuals who love it. For those who dislike the book, they always claim that this book sucks and the writing is terrible. True, the writing is nothing spectacular and same goes for the plot. I was actually disappointed when I read the first book because it was labeled as dystopia but it only had dystopian elements and the world-building was nonexistent. Nevertheless, these books are what I would call a “guilty pleasure” and I enjoyed reading them. It’s a series that I would definitely recommend to everyone if you just want a fun read.

A love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with OR an OTP that you don’t like.

I think I’m actually going to get a lot of people upset for this (well for those who care) but I didn’t like Harry and Ginny. When I first read the Harry Potter books I always thought that Harry was going to end up with Hermione (you know the trope- hero always ends up with the girl). It really didn’t help when the movies came out and Daniel Radcliffe and Emma Watson has such great chemistry on screen but that’s just probably me. I know people were ecstatic that J.K. Rowling didn’t go for the cliche ending but I actually did ship Harry and Hermione. However, I don’t mind Ron and Hermione.  My issue was with Harry and Ginny. I just didn’t buy the love between them. It felt forced and it’s probably the fact that Ms. Rowling didn’t focus on their romance until the sixth book. All of a sudden Harry gets jealous of Ginny being with Dean…(Idk I just didn’t get it).  I am well aware that Harry Potter is not about romance but I just had to say it.

A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for.

I am quite open-minded when it comes to reading any books. Sure I’d prefer a certain genre over the other but I have read almost all kinds. However, if I’d pick one I’d say non-fiction. I think non-fiction is a popular genre and is definitely an alternate if you don’t like reading fiction. I prefer fiction over non-fiction any day.

 A popular or beloved character that you do not like

That’s right I didn’t like Holden Caulfield. I’ve read The Catcher in the Rye twice (first time for leisure, the second time for required reading–and ended up disliking the book both times). I found him insufferable and call me cruel or heartless, but I couldn’t really sympathize with him. Nevertheless, if I have to look at his character overall, I don’t think Holden was necessarily written as someone to be liked by the readers, but rather a teenager that you had to empathized with. Yes, he is someone who feels very “real” and maybe that’s why he is beloved by those who read the book.  However, I came to the conclusion that Holden is one of those fictional characters that you either end up loving or hating, and unfortunately, I am the latter.

A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

Stephanie Perkins. I attempted to read Anna and the French Kiss and couldn’t finish it. I know that a lot of people love her as well as the book, but I am one of the few who don’t care so much. I was really put off with Anna and the French Kiss because I felt as if it encouraged cheating.  Apparently Cheating is all of a sudden an “okay” thing to do just because the guy is doing it to be with the main character. Moreover I can’t help having this notion in my head that if Etienne can do it to his girlfriend, then I’m sure he is capable of doing it to Anna. Yes I know it’s “fiction” and I shouldn’t put too much thought into it, but I don’t condone cheating. Therefore, anything that has it in any book is a quick and easy way for me to make me hate the book. After that “so called reading experience” it’s going to be difficult for me to get into reading her other books.

A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

I could list so many but I’ll go with the heroine who thinks she’s plain yet *gasps* she’s actually gorgeous and  she’s the only one who doesn’t see it….You know the heroine who whines how she’s unattractive and the guy will never be interested her. And then all of a sudden when someone compliments her especially her love interest she gets all surprised.

“But why?! I’m so plain with my big brown eyes and black silky hair…..” (okay terrible example but you get the idea)

eye roll animated GIF

A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

Instead of saying Fifty Shades of Grey because that is a given I am picking Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick. I am just not interested;  and I don’t need a romance book in which our main hero is a stalker and the main heroine finds his so-called behavior alluring. Oh don’t forget he’s very attractive so that’s totally fine.

So if he’s unattractive then of course it’s going to be creepy. I can’t comprehend as to why certain readers find this characteristic appealing nor do I see the logic. If this was real life I would fear for my life and ask for a restraining order.. I know, I know it’s fiction….. *sighs*

The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

I’m going to go with Gossip Girl. I’ve read all the books but I thought the T.V. adaptation was much better minus the series finale ending (I wasn’t a fan). The books are much different in terms of the plot and has certain elements from the book, but overall really different. The characters I would say I like more in the tv series than the book. Overall I would just say I would prefer watching the show again over reading the series the second time.

I’m not going to tag anyone particular for this post because I thought this was a fun tag to do and encourage everyone especially those of whom I follow!  So if you read this post you are considered tagged, and you can just link me your post. Hope you all have an awesome day! 😀

45 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. Aww I really enjoyed reading this! I feel so guilty that I’ve never actually read any of the books you mentioned bar Harry Potter (because I mean come on….It’s Harry Freakin’ Potter!!). I have to give some love to the little Sherlock reference there too!! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. HAHA I think it will take me awhile to get to read the last two books. Oh yes it’s all about fiction. They are much more entertaining to read. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Tell me about it!! I wanted them together so badly and I thought it was going to happen unfortunately it didn’t. And despite that one thing not happening book it doesn’t take away my love for the series overall.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I thought I was the only one who didn’t like Matched! I am so glad to know it wasn’t just me! My friends RAVED about it. I thought I was missing something! And oh my gosh, I DNF’ed Anna and the French Kiss as well. Everyone seems to love it and I tried to read it; I just couldn’t do it! I was NOT okay with the decisions Etienne made because it made him look like a jerk. Who wants a jerk as the MC?
    In terms of TV shows that are better than the book-The Vampire Diaries is a way better show then the books? Have you ever read them? I can’t imagine how amazingly creative the writers had to be to turn those books into such an engaging show. (Seriously, the first book or 2 was ok, but it is all down hill after that!).
    I can’t wait to share my answers on my blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t get the love for Anna and the French Kiss. Everyone raves on how cute and great the story is. There is nothing about a cheating main character.

      I haven’t read The Vampire Diaries but I watch the show. I may not read it since I’ve heard the show is so much better than the books.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I SO AGREE WITH YOUR OPINION ON HARRY AND HERMIONE. I thought they had amazing chemistry in the movies and also their exchanged dialogues in the books were adorable. Although I never thought about romance while reading the books, now that I think about it, I want them to be a couple. I don’t like Hermione and Ron or Harry and Ginny. Like you, I thought their romantic relationships were forced. Anyway, but that doesn’t mean I still can’t ship Harry and Hermione! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my gosh thank goodness I thought I was the only one! I recall reading the fourth book and Rita Skeeter had the assumption that Harry and Hermione were in a relationship….oh how I wanted it to be true!HAHA
      I always thought that they had potential to be a couple if J.K. Rowling wanted them to end up together. I think she mentioned it awhile back that Harry and Hermione should have ended up together…Too late now!
      I had this notion that the only reason why she picks the couples was because Harry and Hermione had to somehow be part of the Weasley family. :/

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You’re not missing anything with Hush Hush lol. It’s a disturbing relationship and from reading reviews there’s quite a bit of slut shaming too..I didn’t like Matched either, I just thought it had a lot more potential and the love triangle was boring to me :/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s what I have been reading about in regards to the series so I was really put off in even attempting to read it!

      Oh gosh Matched was a snoozefest…HAHA

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I agree with you on most of these. Matched was such a huge disappointment to me.

    I’m glad to find someone else who gets irked by the “I’m so unattractive” trope! So annoying and it often is accompanied by a love triangle which makes it 20x worse!

    I just have to briefly defend Hush Hush because it is a personal fave of mine: I find Nora doesn’t totally dig the stalker vibes when she first meets Patch. She’s actually pretty stand-offish about it which I appreciated because–hello? creepy much! Though I suppose it’s a bit of a mute point because they do eventually get together 😛 so I definitely get where you are coming from 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tell me about it! I hate love triangles, too. They are only acceptable when done right.

      As for Hush Hush, I was really put off when I read the reviews therefore, I ended up not reading it. People had critical reviews that pointed out certain aspects of the books that I found unappealing and definitely something that will make me refuse to read the book. I’m sure it’s a good book because I know others who enjoyed it–but it just won’t be for me. Everyone has different tastes after all. 😉

      Like

  6. Great post! I actually haven’t read most of these (Harry Potter being the obvious exception), but I appreciated your reasoning behind your choices. They sound like reasons that I would have the same feelings about many of them. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! 🙂 I don’t necessarily think that some of the books I mentioned are terrible but there were just aspects that I personally found unappealing and was not my cup of tea. Other people may have found it a great read while I didn’t/won’t. Thanks for reading. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I agree with so many of these! I totally thought Harry and Hermione would end up together. I never got the obsession with The Catcher in the Rye or Haulden. And I’m getting so fed up with female heroines acting like they’re not important/beautiful/strong when they are. I want a badass chick who knows she’s badass!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my goodness thank goodness I’m not the only one who thought so. I felt like they had the potential to end up together if J.K. Rowling wanted it too.

      Gosh Catcher in the Rye is one of those overrated classic books and Holden is just an annoying teenager who needed to stop complaining about everything…HAHA

      And I agree. I love heroines who are a total badass (i.e Katniss) I get so annoyed with the damsels in distress.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. My book club read Catcher. It was our largest meeting, and the split was about 50-50. Lots of people felt just as you do about Holden. The word “whiny” came up a lot. Moi, I don’t think it matters that much. I thought Salinger was a great writer; the first-person narration is nearly perfect. if only I could write like that….sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. She was one of the authors that really never appealed to me. I kind of fell into the hype since everyone was raving about her books especially Anna and the French Kiss so I just gave it a try and what a disappointment!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I agree with you on several different answers. I was never invested in Harry & Ginny either, but I think that – for me – that has to do a lot with the movies. I didn’t like Ginny in the movies one bit, so this dislike kind of took over in the books too, so I was just meh about them.

    Also, yaaaaas. Holden Caulfield annoyed me so much. I didn’t like the book, and that had a lot to do with the main character. He was inconsiderate, insensitive and just… mean.

    As for Stephanie Perkins, I thought Anna was meh as well, but I really enjoyed Lola. 🙂 Isla was probably the one I liked the least.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel the same way. The actress that played Ginny was bland and it didn’t help that they made her character in the movie even more uninteresting.

      As for Holden he’s the character that you love to hate. All he did was whine…

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts :)

