Liebster Award

LiebsterAward_3lilapples

Hi everyone! First and foremost I just want to say thanks to all those who follow and read my blog posts.  You are all awesome! So I have been nominated for the Liebster Award by these three lovely ladies on the same day Hidden StaircaseWhat’s She Reading?, and abOOkishOwl.  Thank you! ❤  And for everyone else go check out/follow their blog if you already haven’t! 🙂

Fair warning: This is going to be a really long post since I have to answer three different set of questions.

The Rules:

  • Thank the person who nominated you and link their blog.
  • Give your readers 11 random facts about yourself.
  • Answer the 11 questions from the blog who nominated you.
  • Nominate 11 bloggers to receive this award.
  • Come up with 11 questions for your nominees!

Now onto the 11 Random Facts About Moi:

1.) I am a recent college graduate with a degree in Health Science with concentration on administration management.  As of now I’m thinking of going back to school to take my Masters in Healthcare Administration (but that’s only plan since school is rather expensive).

2) Rocky road is my favorite ice cream flavor.

3) I have a shoe obsession. I will buy shoes just because I think it’s “cute” even though I really don’t need it.

4) I am an only child, though I’ve always wished I had an older sibling.

5) I love the sound of the piano.

6) I’d like to go sky diving someday (with assistance…definitely with assistance)

7) I am sad to say that I do no how to swim.  I’ve been traumatized since I was five years old when I almost drowned at the beach.

8) I love collecting movies/DVDs. I’ve made purchases of movies from a few years back that are still unopened.

9) Tennis is my favorite sport to play, though I am not even great at it.

10) I enjoy hiking and jogging/running.

11) I lost my 20/20 vision during my sophomore year in high school. Now I’m stuck wearing glasses/contact lenses.

Onto the Questions:

Hidden Staircase’s Questions

1) J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter Series or J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings?
If you read my Top Ten Tuesday Post on to-be-read list Lord of the Rings is on there, so definitely Harry Potter all the way.

2)What is the number one book you always recommend when someone is looking for a great read?
I don’t have a book recommendation immediately because everyone has different tastes. I will probably base it on the types of genre that they like or is interested in reading.

3)You can spend a day with one author (living or dead). Who do you pick and why?
This is tough because I have quite a few in mind: Kurt Vonnegut (because his books always makes me laugh even though it’s satire), Sarah Dessen (because I want to gush about all the swoon worthy heroes that she creates), and of course J.K. Rowling for obvious reasons.

4)If you could transport yourself into any book, where would you be?
Harry Potter because I’m still waiting for my Hogwarts acceptance letter.

5)I love books, but I also love a good TV show. What’s your favorite?
I have a lot and I will list them all because I can’t pick just one. I mostly enjoy procedural dramas, though like Criminal Minds, CSI, Law and Order, Bones and so on. Other TV shows I like include The Flash, Marvel’s Agents of Shield, The Vampire Diaries, Pretty Little Liars, Person of Interest, Sleepy Hollow, Modern Family.

6)You are forced to pick one book genre to read for life. *gasp* What do you choose?
Surprisingly this is no dilemma. Dystopian novels all the way.

7)How many books do you read at one time?
At least two or three.

8)Quick pick: Billy Joel or Elton John?
I actually don’t really listen to them and are only familiar with a few of their songs but I guess I’d pick Elton John.

9)What book are you looking forward to reading in 2015?
I have a lot. Among them include Harper Lee’s new novel, the final installment of The Raven Cycle series, etc…

10)When you’re not reading, what is your favorite thing to do?
I like going to the gym…though that’s really a daily routine for me. Probably just watching TV since I’m really more of a homebody.

11)The Doctor shows up with the TARDIS, and invites you to travel in time with him for one round trip. Where do you go? (If unfamiliar with Doctor Who, you can travel to the past or to the future. You can stay on earth, visit another planet, etc. The sky is the limit.)
I’ve never watched Dr. Who, but I guess I’d definitely like to go visit another planet. I’ve always had great interest in astronomy when I was younger.

What’s She Reading Questions:

1.) What book do you wish people would just stop talking about?
Fifty Shades of Gray. I personally will not read this book, but I just think there’s too much talk about it. We get it. You either like it or you don’t.   Let us all move on.

2.) What author (living or dead) do you wish you could meet?

See answer to Hidden Staircase question.

3.) If you could only read one series for the rest of your life, what would it be? (Excluding Harry Potter)
Hmmm…this is rather tough. As much as I like a lot of young adult series, I’d probably pick the Hercule Poirot series by Agatha Christie.

4.) What is your reading pet peeve? (Something authors do that you hate)
I have a lot and to avoid making a list I’ll just put one. This is not actually common since most books don’t have them, but I’d say short epilogues. I am still unsatisfied with the Harry Potter ending.

5.) What book reminds you the most of your childhood?
Harry Potter.

6.) If you could live in any book world, what would it be? (Again, excluding Harry Potter)
The Hunger Games…haha just kidding. Probably Percy Jackson. I find mythology interesting so it would definitely be fun living in that world. I mean come on Greek gods and goddesses!

7.) What book would you recommend to a non-reader?
Again it would be depend what they would find interesting, but probably Harry Potter because it’s popular and I feel like you can never go wrong recommending the series.

8.) What book-to-movie (or TV) was the greatest disappointment for you?
There’s quite a few but I would say A Series Of Unfortunate Events. I loved the series as a little girl and I looked forward to the movie adapatation. Unfortunately, it did not meet my expectations.

9.) What was the last book to make you cry?
I honestly cannot recall…probably a Mitch Albom book though. His books always leaves me shedding a tear or two for some reason.

10.) Where is your favorite reading spot?
My bed.

11.) What do you love most about reading?
Simple really. With books I feel like I will never get bored or feel lonely. It’s great entertainment.

Bookish Owl’s Questions:

1.) What fictional character would you choose to become your bestfriend?
Hermione Granger. I have great admiration for her.

2.) What fictional character would you date?
Darn it why this question?! Uhh Wes from Sarah Dessen’s The Truth About Forever…though this will probably change by tomorrow.

3.) If you were given a chance to visit a fantasy world you have been dying to go only if you defeat the infamous villain that lives in there, what would you choose?
Okay other than the Harry Potter world for a change I’d  probably pick Middle Earth of Lord of the Rings. I kow I haven’t read the book but I did watch the movies, so I guess that somehow counts.

4.) Who would be the author you would want to become friends with?
J.K. Rowling. Okay yes if you noticed by now I am huge Harry Potter fan.

5.) What book do you think have so much hype when it shouldn’t have been?
Fifty Shades of Gray. I did read an excerpt of the first book and I was definitely not impressed. All of my girl friends read the series and watched the movie, but I am not interested.

6.) If you were stuck in cave for a month what book would you want to have?
The Bible. I’ll probably need a month to read it anyways. The copy that I have is approximately 2,000 pages long.

7.) If you were given a chance by an author to write one chapter in her book, what book would that be and who would be that author?
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows specifically the epilogue. Although, I am not a great writer, so I’d prefer not to write a chapter for any book. I’d probably ruin the story.

8.) What book would you say had the greatest influence on your reading?
I think that many books have had a great influence on me over the years so I can’t narrow it down to one. I apologize if I’m not specific on this one.

9.) What would be that unforgivable thing a person who borrowed your book should not do?
I wouldn’t even let them borrow my books in the first place.haha Yes I may seem selfish but I don’t like lending my books.

10.) What book made you think deep and change even a little of your perspective in life?
Definitely Diary of a Young Girl by  Anne Frank and Night by Elie Wiesel.

11.) Why are you into reading?
I’ll use this Stephen King quote: “Books are the perfect entertainment: no commercials, no batteries, hours of enjoyment for each dollar spent. What I wonder is why everybody doesn’t carry a book around for those inevitable dead spots in life.”

My Nominations:

Agustine @The Spring Days

Ashley @Dear World…

Becca and Books

Books Over People

drizzleandhurricanebooks

Emily @The Diary of a Bibliophile

Little Miss Unsure

Meena @Tattooed Pages

Sam @Book Beat

Silanur @InfiniteBooooks

Summer @xingsings

thewritestuff123

Taylor @Bibliophile Gathering

Trisha Ann @The Bookgasm

Yvo @It’s All About Books

Okay I cheated by nominating 15 because it just looked odd with only 11 (I’m really weird, I know).  And if you’re not on this list (some of you I am already aware have received this award before), and you like accepting these kinds of awards please feel free to do it as well.  If not, that’s okay, too.

Questions for my nominees:

1) What is your worst bookish habit?
2) Which fictional character would you have actually dated in high school?
3) What is your favorite movie/tv series adaptation of a book?
4) What book genre/types of books do you absolutely refuse to read?
5) Which author have you read the most book from?
6) Do you prefer a physical book or e-book? Or both?
7) What book could you not finish and why?
8) What book do you believe is highly overrated?
9) Who are your least favorite/hated characters and which books are they from?
10) If you read Young Adult Books what are some of the common tropes in these books that you are tired of seeing?
11)This one is non-book related but I am a huge fan of Disney so I’d like to know who is your favorite Disney princess?(Disney character if you don’t like any Disney princess)


15 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. When I buy DVDs, I usually don’t open them until I decide to watch them again, which sometimes never happens or doesn’t happen for a long time after. lol. So I have unopened ones too.

    I lovelovelove Sleepy Hollow so much!
    Mitch Albom books always leave me crying too, lol. I love his books.
    I refuse to let anyone borrow a book until I have read it first. I would hate for anything to happen to it before I actually get the chance to read and touch it myself, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean!I’ve had DVDs that are five years old and I still haven’t opened them. I love Mitch Albom too! His books are always amazing. And Sleepy Hollow is great. Ichabod is hilarious…haha At least you’re nice enough to lend your books! I always get paranoid that the person will ruin my book so I just simply don’t let them borrow it. I tell them to go to the library instead.haha

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts :)