Top Ten Tuesday: Books You Are Thankful For

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they provide a topic, and you choose ten books that answer that topic. This week’s topic  is a freebie—- Thanksgiving freebie — tell us what you are thankful for! Books you are thankful for!

 

Related image

          The Harry Potter series by JK Rowling

Surprise, surprise……  I don’t have to explain honestly. It’s a great series of books for all people of all ages and provides younger people with great role models.  The books have taught me a lot growing up.

We’re thankful for the books that have opened our imaginations…… for the books that have challenged the way we think…And we’re thankful for the books that have changed our lives.

Related image

To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee 

I actually enjoyed this book the second time I read this because to me it was eye-opening. An eye-opening story in which an innocent, naive child realize that not everyone is accepting as they thought and that the world can be superficial and cruel.

 

 

Image result for fahrenheit 451

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

A book about a society who forbids its citizens to read. After reading this it made me realize that reading is such an important aspect in my life and without books—well it would just be devastating.

 

 

Image result for the hunger games

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins 

At some point I was in a reading slump for a while and it was difficult for me to find a really good book to read; hence I wasn’t reading a lot of books. Then I gave the series a try- and well let’s just say it brought back my passion for reading again.

 

Image result for the little prince book

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Just because it’s recognized as a children’s book I think it’s really meant for grown ups. This book had some great lessons. While I read the book in French here are just a couple of excerpts that struck me while reading- translated in English

“It is only with the heart that one can see rightly. What is essential is invisible to the eye.”

““Grown-ups love figures… When you tell them you’ve made a new friend they never ask you any questions about essential matters. They never say to you “What does his voice sound like? What games does he love best? Does he collect butterflies? ” Instead they demand “How old is he? How much does he weigh? How much money does his father make? ” Only from these figures do they think they have learned anything about him.”

 

Image result for the giver book

The Giver by Lois Lowry

One of the very first few chapter books that really “made me think” This book has taught me to think outside the box.

What are some books that you are thankful for?

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-260-AFBA4FC17F758CD109E0A96605A679E1

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books You Are Thankful For

  1. Great list. Fahrenheit 451 is one of my favorite dystopians. I think I might be most thankful for Octavia Butler’s Kindred. It was the first science fiction novel I read by a POC and it provided me with space to be a POC who liked science fiction. My TTT

    Like

    1. Thank You! I must shamefully admit that I have yet to re-read the whole entire series since I actually forgot what happened with the exception of The Giver! haha

      Like

  2. I’m happy to see a few classics on the list. I love To Kill A Mockingbird and although I hated the Giver when I was younger it has grown to be one of my all time favourite books. I still need to read Fahrenheit 451 but I just need to make time to get around it it. Love the post and look forward to reading more. 🙂

    Like

Share Your Thoughts :)

