Book Review: The Girl on the Train

 

book-reivew

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-288-C496277F5159F4992E3F00CED3A13EC5

I read this book in one sitting; and that’s before going to bed so you may think this book was impressive. Unfortunately I found it to be an only “okay” book.  I am actually not sure what my rating of this book is so I just settled for three stars. I had high expectations for this book- a great thriller, but it was mediocre at best.

I love the “whodunit” kind of stories but at some point, I actually got tired of reading and just wanted to get to the end. The pacing was so slow and weird enough it was too easy to read.  I guess I wanted a more complex, edge of my seat story.  Most of the chapters I found rather boring and it was not until towards the end that I ended up being intrigued.

One of the only few good things about this book might have been the fact that it wasn’t predictable- well for me anyways.  I was unable to guess the final outcome until all the clues were laid out in front of me.  It was surprising because it actually never crossed my mind the whole time I was reading; however I was not mind blown.  My reaction was more like “Oh…..okay…”  I guess part of it had to do the fact that I wanted the book to be over….FAST!

Moreover, I couldn’t find in me to like any of the characters.  I found them to be hateful. I know that I wasn’t suppose to sympathize with them, but I didn’t care for them.  I wasn’t rooting for anyone and truthfully I didn’t care about what happened to them.

Overall I did like the book, but it just disappointed me a little. There were some things I liked, however I honestly can’t even recall any. I was about to lower my rating to 2 or 2.5 stars, but something inside me keeps telling me this deserves better, so 3 stars it is!

 

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-260-AFBA4FC17F758CD109E0A96605A679E1

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Girl on the Train

  1. I read this book fairly quickly, too, though not in one sitting like you! I liked it at first, but it lost its intrigue for me as it went on…and on. I think my major issue was the characters lacked reality, especially the narrator. But, a lot of people in my book club swore by this book, so what do I know?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I think I wasn’t as emotionally invested in the characters that’s why I didn’t enjoy it as much. It was difficult to connect with Rachel and at time I just found her kind of irritating. To me this book was a hit or miss and unfortunately it was the latter.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I had similar thoughts about this book. With how much I’ve heard about it and the movie coming up I thought it would be different. I don’t know… maybe I let advertising shape my opinion of it before I had the chance to build my own expectations of the book. Anyways, I love your review and your honesty. Looking forward to reading more. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! I can recall that it was being compared to Gone Girl so I definitely had high expectations for it. Thank You! I felt like I was actually quite generous with my rating. HAHA

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The fact that you struggled figuring out how much to rate it shows that it was a difficult book to figure out if you liked it or if you only thought you should rate it higher because of what you expected it to be. It is nice to have an honest review of it as so many others have pretty much said that they loved it… I guess it is opinion as well. XD

        Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts :)

