REASONS WHY I LOVE YOUNG-ADULT LITERATURE

I’M BACK AGAIN! HI EVERYONE.  IT FEELS LIKE IT HAS BEEN AGES (WHICH PROBABLY IS) SINCE I LAST POSTED ANYTHING ON HERE. I HAVEN’T HAD MUCH READING DONE BUT I’M STARTING TO DO SO AGAIN THIS NEW YEAR.  AS OF NOW I’M CURRENTLY READING RED RISING BY PIERCE BROWN, BUT KNOWING MY HECTIC SCHEDULE, I WILL MOST LIKEY FINISH THE BOOK IN A MONTH. *crossing my fingers that it won’t be*  ANYWAYS I THOUGHT I’D POST SOMETHING TODAY JUST TO LET KNOW THAT I AM STILL MUCH ALIVE AND HAVE NOT FORGOTTEN ABOUT THIS BLOG. SO FOR THIS POST I’M GOING TO GIVE REASONS WHY I LOVE YOUNG-ADULT LITERATURE!

A few months ago I made a post about Why You Should Read Classic Literature.  In that particular post I mentioned that I am not a picky reader–which I am. I am open to reading anything just as long as it piques my interest. I love classics just as much as I love young-adult books. These two genres are two of my favorites to read. So for this post I’m going to share my reasons as to why I love reading young adult books.  I admit, I am an adult (though I don’t really look my age) who to this day still reads young adult fiction. Earlier in my college years, I remember being embarrassed going to the library or at the bookstore and perusing through the young adult section.  So back then, I was really glad that there were self-checkouts. 

Believe me I asked myself that question all the time and face palming too…..

However, now that I look back, it was really dumb of me think that way because I know for sure that there are others like me who read them regardless of the age target.  There are so many great young adult novels out there to choose from.  I mean they do pale in comparison to great literary classics, when it comes to content.  Nevertheless, at most times I just prefer entertainment and an easy read.  So for those who aren’t addicted to them, once you read them, I can assure you that you will be soon enough.  As previously mentioned as much as I love my classics, a lot of the books that I have read are young adult fiction. Half of my book purchases are probably young adult.  And no matter how old I become I think that I will forever be reading young adult fiction.  So here are my reasons as to why I enjoy reading them:

Plot Driven

 

divergent animated GIF

Young adult novels often doesn’t require you to analyze to understand (really straightforward), nor do you have to wait pages after pages of reading to get to the plot. The moment you start reading the first page, it grabs your attention, and from there you are immediately propelled through the journey of characters.

Characters are Relatable

From the get-go the author lets you know about the character’s personality, what they are like, they’re motivations which often lacks in adult fiction. Well that’s how it feels to me. Not only that, but I always find them more witty and intelligent and overall more likable.  Being 23, I find myself in a particularly weird age group because in most of the books that I have read the characters are either teenagers or adults but they are much older..usually in their 30s.  Even though I am no longer a teenager, I always feel that I can identify more with a 15-17 year old than a heroine that is 30-40 years old.

Young Love

love animated GIF

Ahhhh young love…One of my guilty pleasures in young adult books is the romance. Even though at times it is complicated and sometimes unnecessary, for the sake of drama (i.e love triangles), there is something so swoon worthy about young love-so innocent and compelling, and sweet.  I get butterflies sometimes, reading those adorable and sweet scenes, and always look forward to the couple’s interactions.  And as much as I love steamy scenes in adult fiction from time to time, I prefer fluff.  In addition in most adult novels, the characters are already carrying so much emotional baggage and too much romantic histories which can create great narratives and character dynamics, but sometimes it’s just too much.  I don’t need all that uncertainty in regards to their relationship.

High School Was Lame

film animated GIF

Compared to high school in real life, high school in fiction is so much better. Okay, my high school years wasn’t exactly that bad, but during my four years I felt like I mostly spend my time studying and getting good grades and whatever mundane things I did.  I’m not saying to ignore your studies, but I just feel that I never did anything interesting or over the top in high school.  So occasionally, it’s good to read about someone who did.

More Empowering

As a female, I love strong heroines-those who kick ass and not have to be the damsel in distress. These authors are creating worlds where both boys and girls can step up and take on the challenge;  a world where a girl can handle herself without having someone to save her and at the same time no one making it big deal that they are female.

More Empathy for the Characters

the perks of being a wallflower animated GIF

I love characters that I can empathize for and in most young adult the author often makes his/her character more emphatic by allowing them to be flawed. They are impulsive and young; they often makes mistakes but at the same time their determination and optimism is what makes me root for them.  It’s so satisfying, to see them learn from their mistakes and grow as a character.  If there is anything I love about the characters, it would probably be their character development, because it makes them so much more likable and we have a better understanding of who they are.

Movie Versions

shailene woodley animated GIF

You have to admit young adult books gets awesome movies. Not all of the movie adaptations is going to impress you; however, what is more cool than getting a movie version of your favorite book. They’re either going to be a hit or miss, but it’s nice to see how it will look like and see if it’s the way you imagined how it would look. On a side note, I’m excited to see The Fifth Wave!

 

THANKS FOR READING! 🙂

P.S. AND FOR THOSE WHO HAVE TAGGED ME FOR ANY BOOK TAGS, I HAVEN’T FORGOTTEN. IT’S JUST GOING TO TAKE ME AWHILE. 😉

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-260-AFBA4FC17F758CD109E0A96605A679E1

13 thoughts on “REASONS WHY I LOVE YOUNG-ADULT LITERATURE

  1. I completely agree with all you points! These are the same reason I love reading YA lit too. Great post 🙂

    Like

  2. Great list! I feel ya with the “shame” aspect but I’ve grown to embrace it. The calibre of YA books now is amazing and I know lots of older people (like my parents age) who read and enjoy them–I can’t even tell you the number of YA books I have told my mom to read and she has enjoyed 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YAS TO ALL OF THESE!!! I’m still a young adult (I’m almost 20) and even I get kind of embarrassed to walk to the YA section of the bookstore simplest because it’s like always either with or right next to the kids section!!!
    All the things you mentioned in this post are the reasons I’m going to be reading YA till I’m 99 years old and have to have the audiobook on -5 speed to keep up!

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts :)

