Book Review: An Ember In The Ashes

ember in the ashes review

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-288-C496277F5159F4992E3F00CED3A13EC5

It seems like I am one of the few who has read this book a bit too late.  There was so much hype surrounding this book and just like any curious reader, I wanted to know what made this book so “great” and why it is so highly recommended.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t that impressed with this book.  I think a lot of it has to do with the fact that it took me a whole month to read this book; therefore, the whole reading experience wasn’t as great. Maybe if I read it in one sitting, like I mostly do with books that I am very eager to read, then I may have “loved” this book.  Overall, I found this book just to be an okay read.  Though I will admit that I am still eager to read the sequel because after reading the last couple chapters—which I thought were somewhat the best parts—- I want to know what’s going to happen next.

Truthfully, I feel like something is wrong with me for giving this book only three stars.  Everyone had high praises and all I can say is, that it was just okay. There wasn’t really anything special about this book that made it stand out like any other high fantasy young adult book that I read.  Nevertheless, I can’t really fault the author, because nowadays, most young adult books contains so many cliched and common tropes that anytime you read one, you’ll find yourself thinking “This seems all too familiar…”  One of the main reasons that I probably didn’t like this book as much was the fact that I really had a difficult time connecting with any of the characters.  Laia, our main heroine was too naive and annoying at times.  I will admit that I admire her for her determination in rescuing her brother; however, that’s the only thing I liked about her. While Helene and Elias seemed like complex and layered characters, I didn’t really connect with them either. Elias I am actually indifferent at this time and Helene was just irritating.  I don’t like her (there I said it)  Moreover, the romance in this book is just a jumbled mess.  Was there even love in this book because everything was based on just lust and being attracted to each other’s looks. I thought the romance was just handled terribly in this book.

Overall, this book was just good and not really amazing like everyone seemed to have made it to be.  It was slow at times and it actually a hundred pages in to be really invested in the story.  The world created by Ms. Tahir is interesting; however, I felt it should have been explored more and I did like the dual point of view of Laia and Elias.  Despite not loving this book, I would still recommend it, but maybe just lower your expectations.

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-260-AFBA4FC17F758CD109E0A96605A679E1

15 thoughts on “Book Review: An Ember In The Ashes

  1. I’ve heard so many great things about this book, its great to know a little of what to expect on the other side 🙂 Aha, I’m excited to read this one but I’ll definitely stay a little cautious – I’m a definite romantic when its good but this romance seems a little icky. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had this book preordered for Kindle way before it even came out, and to be completely honest…I haven’t even read it yet. Sometimes a book gets a lot of hype and we feel like we HAVE to like it, and we HAVE to read it, and I think that tends to ruin it before we even get started reading it.

    Like

  3. I enjoyed this one a lot but it didn’t blow me away either.

    It’s interesting that you didn’t like Helene–though I totally understand why. I think she is one of those characters you either like or you don’t. I happened to like her a lot but I think that was by default because Laia wasn’t overly intriguing…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes Laia was a boring heroine. And Helene wasn’t any better. As far as written characters I think she was one of the more compelling ones but I just didn’t click with her for some reason.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m also one of the last people who haven’t read this book yet! It’s on my Christmas Wishlist though so I’m hopefully going to have it soon!
    It sucks that the book didn’t live up to the hype for you. You have got me interested in seeing what’s so exciting about the end of the book!! And I do love duel POVs!! Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Charley!! 🙂 Aww I missed you too and blogging about books. I’ve just been so busy that I don’t have much time to do anything book related or even post anything. 😦

      Like

Share Your Thoughts :)

