The Nostalgic Book Review Tag

nostalgiabookreview

Thank you to these two lovely ladies: Josie and Aimal for tagging me!

The tag is quite simple. All you need is to review a book that you have read two or three years ago, with the exception that if you’ve recently been involved in the reading game, then you are allowed to choose the first book you read.

The only catch is that you have to review a book just from memory–therefore it is prohibited that you look at the blurb and of couse no Goodreads for you!

This tag is also broken into three different parts:

– The summary: where I tell you a little bit about the book, from my memory. 

– The thoughts: where I do my little review of the book, once again from my memory

– The epilogue: where I go back and actually look up the summary, and then tell you what I got wrong, or what I forgot!

Before I even start the actual tag…

ummm “BOOK AMNESIA ANYONE?!”

I definitely suffer from this so-called “condition”. I am that one person who will read a book and will probably remember about few months after, but after that, the most important parts, with maybe the exception of the main characters’ names then it’s definitely foggy in my mind.  A perfect example is Insurgent because when I watched the film I can’t even complain on what the film missed since I don’t recall anything from the book. (I already know what book I’m not going to use…..)  Please excuse a bit of my digression and unnecessary rambles–just trying to point out that I just have terrible memory.

Anyways let’s get started. For this book tag I will be using Marie Lu’s Legend which I have read about two years ago. My memory of this book may be jumbled since I did read the series in two days (it was that good!)

From what I can recall the United States no longer exists. It has separated: the Republic and the Confederates. Our main hero, Day is notorious criminal who is wanted by the Republic- the reason being is that he is stealing from them, albeit I forgot what it was he was stealing.  The main heroine is June Iparis who is very intelligent and is great with martial arts. She is the top of her class and because of her intelligence and skills she is assigned to look for Day and turn him in. She is eager to hunt him down especially since she believes that Day was responsible for killing her brother Metias. And just like any dystopian novel, they discover what the government is planning and they try to stop it. (though I forgot what the plan was)In the end I believe they run away, riding on a train.

I remember really enjoying Legend because I read it one day. After Divergent and The Hunger Games I really needed another dystopian trilogy that was fast-paced and entertaining, and this one did not disappoint.  I liked Marie Lu’s writing style and the concept was good. Day is the total badass and so was June, but I will admit that I liked Day more than June. I believed June was too uptight in the beginning. She’s definitely a badass heroine which I do like, but it took me a bit to warm up to her character. My main issue with this book when I first read it, was the insta-love between June and Day. I believe it was after their first meeting and they were stuck in an alley—all of a sudden they couldn’t fight their attraction that they started kissing. However, other than that I really liked the book. It was action-packed and really fast-paced so I was never bored. If I were to rate from what I can remember, this book would have been a 4 stars out of 5.

Okay the actual summary of the book courtesy of Goodreads

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.
From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Okay so I was definitely not far off at all. I was wrong about the separation of the United States-the actual U.S. has become the Republic and the other side is called the Colonies–not the Confederates. The Colonies have the Patriots who are vigilante rebels who are keen in taking down the Republic. As far as the kiss goes, Day was actually half-drunk at that time. And I was absolutely right with the ending in which June and Day were on a train. This is due to the fact that they were able to escape and Day avoided execution, albeit, at the expense of his brother’s life. Nevertheless, I really missed the main plot of the book or at least one of the main focal points—there is a plague affecting everyone and Day’s family is infected, therefore, he steals from the hospitals at the Republic for a cure.

Wow for someone with terrible memory I think I did fairly well. 😉

Because this was such a fun tag I will tag everyone that I follow!!!! (honestly I think I’m just too lazy to tag anyone in particular…. 😉 ) Please understand. HAHA But seriously though I recommend/encourage ALL of you to do this tag!  Thanks for reading!

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-260-AFBA4FC17F758CD109E0A96605A679E1

2 thoughts on “The Nostalgic Book Review Tag

Share Your Thoughts :)

