Summer Reader Book Tag

i've been tagged

Thank you to the amazing Aimal for tagging me. Sorry this took me forever. On another note I also have another summer tag and ironically I was tagged by Summer HAHA so I’ll get to that one as soon as possible since summer is about to be over–well sometime in September, but don’t want to be to late on that. Okay I rambled..but on to the tag….

Lemonade: pick a book that started off bitter, but got better.

  The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

I actually DNF-ed this book the first time I tried reading it. I was already a hundred page in and nothing was happening so I got bored. But then one day I decided to just give it another shot and when the plot got moving I was so invested in the story. I actually re-read it from the beginning and finished the whole book in a day. Now the series has become one of my favorites (ahhh Blue and Gansey is one of my favorite OTP) I’m still not over the fact that The Raven King has been postponed till next year.


Golden Sun: pick a book that made you smile beyond compare.

Picture

Can You Keep A Secret by Sophie Kinsella 

Okay I’m not a really chick lit fan, but this has to be one of the most hilarious book I’ve read so far from just reading the first page. It wasn’t even the romance that had me smiling or laughing (I honestly could have cared less if there was romance or not, but it’s a chick lit novel after all) but rather the main character. She was just so hysterical.


Tropical Flowers: pick a book set in a foreign country.

PictureThe Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon 

I just started reading this book and enjoying it so far. It’s a detective novel and historical fiction. The setting takes place in post-war Barcelona, Spain.  The novel is actually a story within a story.


Tree Shade: pick a book in which a mysterious or shady character was first introduced.

PictureHarry Potter series by J.K. Rowling  

Of course I have to go with Professor Severus Snape. Of course we are already aware of his motives, but he was quite suspicious in the beginning. You weren’t sure if he was a bad guy–I know for me I thought he was going to be this evil guy.  But I was so naive when I first read the books. I was not going to do analyze his character. If you come off scary looking and show disdain towards the main character, my 9 year old self will think you’re the bad guy.


Beach Sand: pick a book that was grainy, and the plot barely developed.

Picture Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi 

I honestly hate to say this but unfortunately the Shatter Me trilogy is probably one of the few series in which the plot was underdeveloped. I was going to go with The Selection as well but I tend to use that a lot in some of the tags I have done. I enjoyed Shatter Me and it has become one of my favorite series, but we all know the plot was actually nonexistent until probably the last 40-50 something pages in the final book. But if we have to really look at it overall, the books weren’t necessarily plot driven but rather character driven especially with Juliette’s character development throughout the entire series.


Green Grass: pick a character(s) that were full of life, making you smile.

The Princess Bride by William Goldman

One of the books that I have read in which the characters are so diverse and fun to read about. The characters here are so rich and vivid that it’s hard to imagine that they don’t exist somewhere in an alternate fantasy world.

Another second would be Robin Goodfellow (aka Puck) from Julie Kagawa’s Iron Fey series. He is lively, full of mischief,
and had me laughing out loud with every line he said. I’d love to have him as my best friend.


Watermelon: pick a book that had some juicy secrets.

Picture And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie 

This book is filled with secrets and you can’t trust anyone.  If you haven’t read this, this is the story of ten people stuck on an luxury island, slowly their secrets come out as they are killed off one by one.


Sun Hat: pick a book that had a vast, big universe/setting.

 The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint Exupery 

I think of LOTR by J.R.R Tolkien and A Song of Ice and Fire series by G.R.R. Martin, but I haven’t read them so I’m not going to choose those two.  Although The Little Prince absolutely pales in comparison in terms of intricate plot and characters, this book takes place in a vast universe–literally. He travels from planet to planet. If the setting is not vast, then I don’t know what is.


BBQ: pick a book in which a character was portrayed as a hunk.

UMMM 90% of the young-adult books and new adult books that I read, the main hero is always portrayed as a hunk, albeit, this term may not be the exact description in the book. However, you already know that the guy is good looking, hot, and perfect, and at times the unattainable for the main heroine who thinks she’s too plain for him… *eye roll*

The first person that came to mind was actually Dimitri from The Vampire Academy series since Rose won’t stop gushing about how hot he is.


Summer Fun: Pass the tag on.

Since I’m trying to tag different people for all the tags (so don’t think I don’t love you guys if you’re not tag 😉 ) I’m going to do, I’ll tag these next fellow bloggers:

Alicia@ The Cyborg Knight
Angelica
Ashley@Dreaming Through Literature
Ashley@ Part Time Book Nerd
Ashley@Dreaming Through Literature
Bianca@ The Ultimate Fangirl
Giselle @Hardwork Boulevard
Kathy @The Novelty of Life
Jesse Nicholas @Books At Dawn
 Kelly@ Dancing Through the Pages
Kira@ Fieitty Reads
Leigh@ Little Book Star
Maria@ Big City Bookworm
Maryan@ 1booklife
Samantha@ Dream by Day Book Club
Shannon@Books That Love You Back
Shelby@ Lulu’s Rants and Reads
Sofia@ The Bookasaurus
Tasha@ Head in the Clouds Heart in the Books
Tash@The Bookie Monsters
Victoria@ Escape into Pages
and anyone else who wants to do this tag!
If you already have done the tag or don’t like doing book tags then totally disregard.
Have an awesome day everyone! ❤

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-260-AFBA4FC17F758CD109E0A96605A679E1

40 thoughts on “Summer Reader Book Tag

  1. I’m a little miffed that you didn’t tag me for this, Erika. 😉 Just kidding, it’s all good. I’ve really been wanting to tag new bloggers as well. I always feel like I tag/nominate the same people. XD And haha, Dimitri is my prototype for a fictional hunk as well. Yes, Rose is quite enamored by him. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my dear Summer I hope you’re not too upset with me. 😉 You know you’re one of my favorite people on here.

      Yes I’ve noticed that I’ve been tagging a majority of the same people for all of my tags as well and it’s usually the ones who posts often. But since I follow a lot of newer blogs, I’d like them to do the tags as well to get to know them better. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I have not read The Scorpio Races but I’m definitely going to add it on my TBR list. Hopefully you will give The Raven Boys a chance, but definitely no pressure there! HAHA

      Your welcome Kelly! Looking forward to reading your answers! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        1. YAY! I hope that when you do finally get a chance to read it, you will like it. I will say that this book will require your patience since it is quite slow-paced, so like me, you may find yourself bored in the beginning. But if you don’t end up liking it, that’s okay, too! Just glad to know you will be giving it a chance. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved the Raven Boys, though I do think her writing takes a bit of getting used to, you have to kind of settle into it, so I can kind of see why you might have started it and then stopped. Glad you came back to it and enjoyed the series so much.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I was really getting bored with all the dialogue and nothing was happening until probably a few hundred pages in. I’m so glad that I gave it a chance because I love everything about it. The characters are so well-crafted and I just want to know what happens in the end! HAHA I’m so disappointed that the last book is postponed till next year, though. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This tag seems so fun, loved reading your answers! I felt the same way about The Raven Boys. I read 100 pages, gave up and the picked it up again a month later and LOVED IT. I’m also really wanting to pick up Can You Keep a Secret, sounds like an awesome chick lit:D

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! You should definitely do the tag if you haven’t done it!

      HAHA yes The Raven Boys takes awhile to get into. The first time I read it, I was so frustrated because it was too much dialogue but the plot was going nowhere.

      You should definitely read Can You Keep A Secret. That one was too funny.. Though maybe it was just me since I get humored really easily. 🙂

      Like

  4. Thanks for the tag! This looks like such a fun tag. I love you’re little “*eye roll*” in the last question to the hunky guy and girls who think they can’t get them trope.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. HAHA thank you. That trope seriously annoys me since we already know that the girl will get the guy anyways.

      Your welcome! Can’t wait to read your answers. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, agreed. As soon as I come across this type of trope in a book I’m like oh so you’re going to be one of those books then. Alright, let’s get on with it. It’s gotten to the point where it’s WAY overdone.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh you should definitely do the tag then! I officially tag you do it if you’re interested. Sorry this was a scheduled post. I was trying to tag my new followers but I guess I followed you after I already had this scheduled. OOOPS haha But do the tag if you want to. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes the writing is quite beautiful. I hope you do finish it. I personally did not like the first book because of the annoying romance but I read the rest of the books in the series and I ended up liking both of the last two books. Sure it was still not a lot happening but it was definitely much better. Although I may have been biased….ahaha

      Like

      1. I totally agree, the romance was very annoying, and even though she knew Adam from school, it really did feel insta-lovey, and there just wasn’t enough build up/tension. I can’t remember how far I got now, but I felt that it was heading into love triangle territory with Warner. It’s good to hear from someone who felt similarly about the first book as I did, that the second two are worth a read. I will definitely give the trilogy another go 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yes that’s what annoyed me the most about the first book. It was about the romance and it’s a relationship that I felt so indifferent with because it felt forced. You can’t just declare you love each other when you’ve only interacted for like a few days.

          Yes if you do pick up the rest of the series, I hope you will change your mind about it. In terms of a dystopian theme it did not meet my expectations but I do call these books a guilty pleasure of mine, hence as to why I may have enjoyed the last two books. 🙂

          Like

  5. Yes, Shatter Me.It was an underdeveloped series I think (since I didn’t finish it). I don’t really get it. Haha.
    I also agree with Severus Snape. I remembered one time, I hated Dumbledore for putting so much trust with Snape. I mean, who in his right mind trust a person who wants Harry expelled and/or suffer. But yeah, I almost cried when he died. 😦

    Like

Share Your Thoughts :)

