Book Review: The Murder of Roger Ackroyd


http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-288-C496277F5159F4992E3F00CED3A13EC5

For once and probably the last, that I would be not outsmarted by the Queen of Mystery, herself Ms. Agatha Christie! So take that Ms. Christie! I saw the culprit from a mile away.

Now, as in a typical Agatha Christie work, the house is full of numerous characters, each one a little eccentric and having something to hide; and as a result you as the reader try to figure out who is the most suspicious of all and pinpoint all your fingers at them–while some somewhat obvious, while others you give the benefit of the doubt.

While deemed as her best work, I beg to differ since And Then There Were None and Murder on the Orient Express remain as my favorites. Nonetheless, this book does not take away the brilliance of Agatha Christie.  Christie manages to keep the reader guessing with various red herrings and a convoluted series of events to throw them off. There are maps and diagrams to help illustrate the crime scene enabling the reader to try and puzzle out the truth. However, you’ll have to read quite close to the end to discover who the real culprit is.  Poirot is as always, hilarious and deductive in his reasoning and just like any of Agatha Christie characters, each of them are unique and enjoyable to read.

This may be the shortest book review I have to write since a long-winded review will surely spoil the potential reader of this book. Overall, this book has what you would want in a classic “whoddunit” mystery; and if you’re familiar with Agatha Christie, she’s the queen.  This book has everything: Poisoning, a blackmail plot, murder, a nervous butler, drug smuggling, and a great plot twist; although I did see it coming. A recommended read for someone who wants a good, short mystery book to kill time.

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-260-AFBA4FC17F758CD109E0A96605A679E1

9 thoughts on “Book Review: The Murder of Roger Ackroyd

  1. I agree with you too. This one is actually on the 1001 list of books to read before you die which surprised me because I think there are others that are better. I think I gave it either 3.5 or 3 stars

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t read too many of her works. I’ve only read three so far which I all mentioned in the review. I do own quite a few of her books, so I’m definitely going to continue reading them and see if there are more good ones. 🙂

      Which do you suggest I should read next? If you don’t mind me asking. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I haven’t read a Miss Marple yet but I do have a few of her books. I have both the Poirot titles that you mentioned so I’ll definitely be checking them out. Thank you for the recommendation. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts :)

