July Book Haul

I usually do my monthly book hauls at the end of the month; however, for the month of July I haven’t had much time to do that, due to a busy schedule. Plus I finally got the chance to catch up with one of my good friends who came to visit from LA, so spending time with him was definitely more important than taking pictures of my book haul; and you can just say I got really lazy….So for this book haul I actually didn’t take any pictures of any books that I purchased.  Nonetheless, I will use images from Goodreads (the edition that I got) and link them to their page. Without further ado here are my July book purchases:

CLASSICS

The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas

One of my very first purchases in the month of July. I’ve been wanting to read this book for a very long time.  Though I must admit, I am a bit intimidated by the size of it.


 Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier


A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

I  own the e-book version which I downloaded for free; however, I needed the physical copy so I couldn’t resist this purchase. Besides I absolutely love Charles Dickens.


 The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

I actually got the Barnes and Noble edition similar to A Tale of Two Cities and Jane Eyre but I couldn’t find the image on Goodreads so I just chose this image….


 Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

One of the very first classic books I’ve read and planning to re-read. I never saw the appeal with Mr. Rochester in this one, but heck I guess he was good enough for Jane Eyre….


 

Mostly Harmless (Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy #5) by Douglas Adams

I actually haven’t read any of the books, but I go this for 50 cents at the thrift store so I guess I will have to complete the series now.


 War of the Worlds and Other Science Fiction Classics by H.G. Wells


CHILDREN’S LITERATURE/YOUNG-ADULT

 The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I finally bought the book everyone!!!  I’ve been hesitant on reading this book for a while but everyone has been recommending the book to me so I thought “might as well……”


The Subtle Knife (His Dark Materials II) by Philip Pullman

I already have the paperback edition of the second installment of the His Dark Materials trilogy, but I’m that person who loves to have other editions of the same book especially the hardcover.


 The Amber Spy Glass (His Dark Materials III) by Philip Pullman


Halo by Alexandra Adornetto

I don’t really read a lot of angel books the only two being Unearthly trilogy by Cynthia Hand and currently Susan EE’s Angelfall trilogy. I’m hoping this one would be good.


 Inkheart by Cornelia Funke


 Poison by Sara Poole

 I don’t really like book covers that feature real people but I guess the premise was interesting enough for me to overlook it.


 Best-Loved Fairy Tales by Hans Christian Andersen

I don’t think I will be ever too old for fairy tales….


 The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett


 Switched (Trylle #1) by Amanda Hocking


 Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

One of those books that I felt like I should have read when I was younger but that never got a chance to.


 The Arctic Incident (Artemis Fowl #2) by Eoin Colfer


Fiction/Contemporary/Other

 The Book of Virtues by William J. Bennett

A book that I just felt like I should have on my shelf….


 A Long Way Down by Nick Hornby


 Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

34 thoughts on “July Book Haul

  1. I literally squealed when I saw that you bought Inkheart. That series mean so much to me because I remember spending a whole summer cuddling up with this book and the other ones in the series and absolutely loving it. This book is also the reason why I got into fantasy books and I really do hope you enjoy it! šŸ˜€

    Like

  2. I admire your passion in reading classics! To be honest, I only read them in class lol. But now I’m trying šŸ˜€ I hope you’ll enjoy the Book Thief! I’m reading it now and so far it’s a good story šŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. šŸ˜€ My love for classics actually grew while I started reading them for English class. It’s also my curiousity since I’d like to know why this book is considered a classic…..

      Classics don’t have the “action-packed” or what I would call “entertainment” that contemporary fiction…young adult book offers, but I love the depth and the great writing (not that modern writers don’t write well…) as well as the complexity of the characters that the authors create.

      But I’ll admit that not all classics are great..So just like any book, you will either end up liking it or not. However, hopefully you’ll form a little bit of love for them someday. HAHA

      It’s good to hear that you’re liking The Book Thief. Everyone seems to love it! šŸ™‚

      Like

    1. Thank You! It may take me awhile to read the book, but at least it’s there when I finally want to read it.

      I’m currently reading The Count of Monte Cristo and I’m really liking it thus far. I’ve read Jane Eyre before which I did like and then a couple of stories from H.G. Wells–The Invisible Man and The Island of Dr. Moreou. Ahhh there are just so many books but very little time. HAHA

      Liked by 1 person

    1. HAHA so I’ve heard. šŸ™‚ I really like the premise of Never Let Me Go so I’m definitely excited to read it.

      Thank you! šŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I really loved The Count of Monte Cristo… sure I was about 13 when I read it, but even then I did enjoy it… also Jane Eyre!

    Don’t know much about other books in this list… I have heard that Book Thief is good… ah… just shows- so many books, so little time šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. HAHA yea I can agree with having too many books with very little time.

      I just started reading The Count of Monte Cristo and I’m really liking it so far after reading about 150 pages out of 1000 something!!HAHA I remember liking Jane Eyre as well but I read the book in my earlier teens so I don’t recall much of the story so I’d like to re-read it again.

      Like

    1. HAHA me too! Everyone has just been recommending me this book. šŸ™‚

      This would be my first Nick Hornby book so hopefully I will like his writing. šŸ™‚

      Like

    1. A classmate of mine really enjoyed the series but it actually didn’t appeal to me back in grade school. HAHA

      Despite it probably not having much appeal now, I’m still interested in reading the series. šŸ™‚

      Like

  4. So are you going to ever share a bookshelf tour with us? šŸ˜‰ Like where do you even store all of these? šŸ˜› Anyway, there are some great buys in this haul. That Jane Eyre edition is so nostalgic for me. I remember seeing it every time I was in the Bs section of my middle school library, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Summer as much as I want to, I’m too embarrassed to show you my shelf..It’s a mess! HAHA Someday I will eventually do a bookshelf tour. šŸ˜›

      Oh how time flies. LOL Have you read the book?

      And thank you. šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m sure it’s more tidy than you think! Definitely show us when you’re ready. šŸ˜‰

        And I have! I read it for my ninth grade summer reading assignment, and I absolutely loved Jane and Mr. Rochester (that’s his name, right?). I also read the other Bronte book, Wuthering Heights, my senior year for fun and liked that one okay. šŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I actually have that exact copy of The Secret Garden (if you’re copy is also paperback, that it)! And The Book Thief is one of my all time favorite books, and I really hope that by the time I’m at least 18 that’ll be considered a classic; I always (er, more like most usually) mention it whenever I do a boo tag because I’m always reminded of it. It’s a long read though, definitely a time (and feels! *fakes a gasp while sobbing*) consuming book. Perfect for a rainy… week. Also, Inkheart is probably the best book I’ve read all year. I personally kept trying to read back in 4th and 5th grade over and over again but it’s such a lengthy book and I only had two weeks each time that it was hard to stay with it. But that was 9-10 year old and once I got myself a copy of it in a nice little thrift shop (a childhood nostalgia place in Virginia called The Closet), I devoured it in about two weeks. I think. It was back in February… and I realize now that I’ve been totally babbling. Sorry ’bout that, but anyways a lot of these books are fabulous reads and I highly recommend Inkheart or The Book Thief for maybe a first read. Awesome haul and hope you have fun šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. HAHA it’s okay. I love your enthusiasm. šŸ™‚

      Yes I do have the paperback edition of The Secret Garden which I have read back in grade school but just wanted to have a copy of and definitely a re-read.

      I heard so many great things about The Book Thief. Everyone has nothing but great words for the book. Hopefully I will like it, too. As for Inkheart I’m really excited that I finally got the first book because I had the second book first..Now I can definitely start on reading it.

      Thank you! šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I actually wished I read them all, but no I haven’t unfortunately. They are just my new additions to my reading list, though I have read some of them before..I’m currently reading The Count of Monte Cristo. It’s such a long book, but so far I’m really liking it. šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

        1. You definitely should when you get the chance! I can’t say it’s amazing since I am not even close to finishing the book, but it’s definitely a book that I find enjoyable…just love the whole revenge aspect. HAHA

          Have you read any works of Alexandre Dumas?

          Liked by 1 person

            1. Oh I didn’t know that. I definitely will add that to my reading list. šŸ™‚ Good thing that you enjoyed it. I’m also going to try to read his other work which is The Man in the Iron Mask. I watched the film adaptation with Leonardo di Caprio a long time ago…and you know what they say about the book being always better than the book….HAHA

              Liked by 1 person

              1. Oh, I love that The Man in the Iron Mask too. There’s such a scene indelible in my memory that a king was held hostage in a dungeon while he was shackled with a pair of chains and an iron mask on . I had expected to read this part in the The Three Musketeers since I watched its anime adaptation; unfortunatley, I didn’t. I wondered then where I watched the said scene. I guess it must be in The Man in the Iron Mask. So, until now I’m looking for the book. ^^

                Liked by 1 person

                1. I think that’s where the scene came from..but I could also be wrong since I watched the film way back when I was really young.
                  I didn’t know that they even had an anime version of The Three Muskeeters. I’m only aware of the film, though have yet to watch it.

                  Liked by 1 person

    1. Doesn’t it? I read this in the fifth grade, though not this edition. It’s one of my favorite classics and definitely deserving of a re-read. šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts :)

