Only In Fiction Will I Fall In Love With You…..

I will admit, I swoon a lot for many male heroes in books that I read. Unfortunately, it’s usually the “bad” boy type with a good (ish) heart–another term I would classify it, is an alpha male hero. And most of the time they were usually the ones that had a terrible first impression. I don’t know what attracts me to them, they just do. However, I know in real life it would be the exact opposite…(nice guys are so much better.) Some, I may want to punch in the face, while others I believe will require a restraining order. So here are just some that captured my heart and has made me shamelessly swoon for them, albeit, will only be in fiction. 

Damon Salvatore from The Vampire Diaries: Damon is the epitome of an anti-hero. He is capable of showing “humanity” especially when his loved ones are in danger. Unfortunately we only see glimpses of it. In the end Damon is selfish and you are most likely going to see him be involved in morally aberrant behavior.  Sure he is a vampire, and at times his actions are justified; however, in real life he is someone you would consider a psychotic killer.


Aaron Warner from Shatter Me Trilogy: I’m talking about the Warner that we are first introduced to–regarded by everyone as cruel, sadistic, and obsessive. Warner was portrayed as someone psychotic, manipulative, and cold, although, this was all a facade and is a result of his childhood.  Despite all of this, I think wouldn’t want a Warner. I feel like he’s someone who would only be nice to his girlfriend and not anyone else.  Moreover, he comes off rather possessive. Sorry Warner, I love you but you scare me a bit.


Jace Wayland from the Mortal Instruments Series: First class pain in the ass. I will admit, I only read the first book, but I can’t deny how attractive he sounded based on the description (unfortunately I couldn’t say the same in the movie adaptation even though I used a gif of the actor…) While his banter with Clary was kind of cute, he would be insufferable in real life. He is kind of arrogant and annoyingly egotistical. He would be someone that I am most likely punch in the face.


Prince Ash from The Iron Fey Series: Cold-hearted (the irony) and mysterious when we first meet him–another bad boy. What’s worst is that in real life he is an ideal for most women— described as tall, dark, and handsome though a total jerk. Moreover, he is quite vengeful, and wants to kill his “ex-best friend” (though I think he wouldn’t really go through with it and would definitely regret it). Besides he’s a faery, it would never work out anyways. HAHA


Frigid (Frigid, #1)

Kyler  Quinn from Frigid: A total man-whore. Sleeps with a lot of women to forget his supposedly “unrequited” love for his best friend, or so he believes.  Definitely a no-no.  Man up and express your feelings!


Gideon de Villiers from the Ruby Red Trilogy: Another certified jerk who I would most likely punch in the face as well. He is arrogant and very condescending. A complete snob who has no problem insulting people, even the person that he is attracted to. For me, this would be considered verbal abuse.

Sure I’d say they all have/had redeeming qualities and I could’t help but root for them. However, I think they are just best to love only in fiction….What do you all think? Do you have any fictional characters that you fell in love with (or fangirl over); however, wouldn’t really be an ideal in real life? Unless you all disagree with me.. Feel free to comment. 

28 thoughts on “Only In Fiction Will I Fall In Love With You…..

    1. Yes a little too alpha is over the top–too possessive, controlling, jealousy, and just gives the crazy stalker vibe. Bad boys with a heart of gold are just so swoon worthy. Haha

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Very true! Most of the heroes I fall for in books are actually ones that I’d most probably detest in real life. I’ve actually thought about this (which led me to imagine if I ended up in a Darcy-Elizabeth kind of situation — it would be so great, wouldn’t it? 😉 )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh yes there are definitely many fictional boys with personalities or qualities that I would only fall in love with in books rather than in real life. I’m so attracted to the bad boys with a secretly soft heart and who doesn’t love a tall, dark and handsome and brooding.
    I agree with your thoughts on Jace and Warner! Wonderful post! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 🙂

      Ah bad boys with a heart of gold are just so swoon worthy. And yes to the handsome brooding hero as well. I just find their characters more compelling and at times more well-written because they have so much depth. Sweet guys are fine, too but I often find them just too perfect that they end up being a really bland character.

      Liked by 1 person

            1. So far I’m really liking him. Not only did he sound attractive, he totally gives the bad boy vibe matching it with wit and sarcasm. Haha. Gotta love that. 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

                1. Totally! I loved that he rather bring back Penryn back to her family than worry about his wings or going after the bad guy. He’s just so sweet! I can’t wait to read the rest of the books of the series. Raffe is just so wonderful—-my typical favorite type of hero-total badass but really sweet at the same time. ❤

                  Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t know . . . personally, these sorts of guys tend to grate on me even in fiction. Geeky, awkward, earnest, and sweet is so much more fulfilling–although less likely to lead to breathtaking plot twists, I must admit. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hmmm I think it’s a matter of preference. For me I just find the “bad boy” a little bit more compelling as a character…Not that there’s anything wrong with sweet guys, because I’ve loved those kinds in books as well though not as many. Most of the time, I just find them bland and too perfect.

      Although as much as I do prefer the bad boys in fiction more, I think they will have to be well-written though to even make me like them..Awkward, sweet guys are cool, too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Fantastic idea for a post! I know right, I love me some fictional bad boys but in real life I would run a mile. My partner is the very opposite of a dangerous anti hero, he’s a sweet and supportive guy and I wouldn’t have it any other way. However in books I am Team Darkling, Team Rhysand etc!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh yes! They’re soooo swoon-worthy in the books, but I could never imagine getting together with any of them in real life. No way. The bad boy with a good heart is always the guy I root for – sorry, best-friend love interest! Unless there’s a guy who’s super funny and witty. Then I’m torn.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tell me about it! I do sometimes root for the best friend love interest, too but they would have to be more interesting than the bad boy; however, generally they aren’t better than the bad boy.

      I may give props to the witty one though. 🙂

      Like

    1. Definitely. In real life you want the sweet and nice guy. I just think it’s because in fiction the bad boy is more compelling as a character. Moreover you know he is redeemable and you just can’t help but root for him.

      Ahhh Warner! He is amazing and so perfect….<3

      No I haven't read the Lux series yet, but I've heard about Daemon. I'm sure if I do read the series, I will fall in love with him. HAHA

      Liked by 1 person

  6. YES. These guys would annoy the heck out of me in real life and I would avoid them, but in books you love them. Like I’ve got a crush of huge proportions on Thorne from the Lunar Chronicles but if I met him I couldn’t stand to be around him for more than a few minutes.

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts :)

