Book Review: Unravel Me


http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-288-C496277F5159F4992E3F00CED3A13EC5

Shatter Me may have have disappointed in many ways, however, Unravel Me on the other hand, did not.

Juliette, while I feel empathy towards her, I wasn’t a fan of her in the beginning in the book.  She was the typical “woe is me” heroine. She was wallowing in self-pity and all she could think about is her relationship with Adam. There are so  many things going on right now and all you do is mope and be sad. No sweetie, you can’t. In a dystopian novel, you as the heroine, have to be tough and actually want to fight for a change. I know she’s still getting accustomed to everything that is going on and she did make progress, but it just took longer than I expected.  Adam I felt really bad for in this book. He’s so kind, sincere, and really loves Juliette.  I liked him much better this time; however, for some reason I still can’t find myself rooting for him to be with Juliette. I was still not convinced with their romance. Kenji, I loved so much in this book. He is the highlight for me this whole entire novel. I want him to be my best friend. I’m so glad that he set Juliette in place and tells her to get over herself.  He basically took all the words out of my mouth when it came to Juliette.

As for Warner, dear Warner, I don’t even know where to start with him.  I am so glad that I was so optimistic about him! He’s not crazy nor obsessed, and I’m glad. We see so much more of his humanity and his capability for redemption.  He develops into a person who has done bad things, who recognizes how hard it is to feel, and who wants to redeem himself for the people he cares about.  Yes, I’m in love with Warner. I have no idea why I have this strange attraction for bad boys with a heart of gold in fiction…. I think it’s because there is so much depth to their character and I just find too nice and perfect male heroes in books to be kind of dull. Others may feel the exact opposite…

“I want to be the friend you fall hopelessly in love with. The one you take into your arms and into your bed and into the private world you keep trapped in your head. I want to be that kind of friend,” he says. “The one who will memorize the things you say as well as the shape of your lips when you say them. I want to know every curve, every freckle, every shiver of your body, Juliette-”

Oh Juliette, you lucky girl.

Unlike in Shatter Me, we finally get to see a larger glimpse of the outside world. I would have preferred if Ms. Mafi focused it on more, instead of Juliette being all down and indecisive most of the time, but I’m content for the moment.  Ms. Mafi describes this bleak world in some detail. We hear about the citizens and their horrible living conditions. We witness the injustice of the Supreme Commander’s rule. Just as this world is new for us, Juliette has yet to experience life outside of the walls she’s been trapped behind.

There were things that I may have not liked in this book but overall, it was such an enjoyable read. It’s definitely an improvement from the first book, so of course I would recommend it!

P.S I actually finished both Unravel Me and Ignite Me in one day, but I wanted to write separate reviews for both books.  A combined review is not enough for me to fangirl over Warner. So be on the lookout for my review for Ignite Me coming up soon..hopefully.

Have a wonderful weekend everyone! ❤

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-260-AFBA4FC17F758CD109E0A96605A679E1

18 thoughts on “Book Review: Unravel Me

  1. YAY! I’m so freaking happy you loved this book! I can’t agree with your review more. Juliette does start out all whiny but in Ignite Me. Gosh. Fierce. Also, Warner. MY GOD. I could write a full review just about him. Bad guys are always the best. Especially the thing we were waiting for actually happens *wink wink* AHHHH! You make me want to reread this whole series! Kenji is funny and does take words out of my mouth. Just in case it wasn’t clear, I love Warner so freaking much and since both our names are Erika, I’m willing to share. What do you think? :)) Can’t wait to read your Ignite Me review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 🙂

      I definitely agree with you on Warner…I can go on and on about how much I love him and how he is just so perfect and so swoon worthy. Goodness I wished he was real. HAHA

      LOL cheers for wanting to share Warner with me.. ❤

      Yes be on the lookout for that because I know I will not be able to contain my inner fangirl when writing about Warner.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I need to read Unravel Me still, and hopefully I’ll have time at the end of this read-a-thon I’m doing this week. (It’s #4 in the list.)

    I just need to say this… That quote from Warner about what kind of friend he wants to be? OH MY GOD. Wow. I want a guy to say that to me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I’m so glad that I did, too! 🙂

      I’m so glad that I read the second book because it made me so eager to finish the last one ASAP.

      Oh my goodness Warner ❤ He's just sooooo swoon worthy. I can't fangirl enough about him. HAHA

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes!! And the last one is great, I tell you. 😉 I think I probably died a little every time Warner made me swoon… Ha, I totally get you! Can’t wait ’till you finish the third book so we can fangirl together! ❤ (I know you're on vacation right now though, so no pressure!)

        Like

  3. I didn’t mind Juliette as a protagonist is Shatter Me. I just ordered this book a few days ago and I’m waiting for it in the mail. Since you enjoyed it more than Shatter Me, I’m bound to love it too!
    I thought Juliette’s love for Adam in Shatter Me was so sudden and just like you, I can’t root for their relationship. But unlike you, I dont feel any emotions towards Adam at all. We’ll see how I go with Unravel Me.
    As for Warner – in Shatter Me I thought he was so crazy and obsessive (I think you saw my review, right?) But after reading Destroy Me, I found myself falling in love with Warner. I can see past the image that was built for him in Shatter Me. The more I think about him, the more butterflies I feel in my stomach! Oh my goshhhh.
    I can’t wait to fall in love with Warner in Unravel Me. And that little quote you gave of Warner? My heart literally just melted. ❤
    Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome! 🙂 I totally understand why you feel that way about Juliette. I guess she’s suppose to be like that since she’s been locked up and to make it worst she can’t touch anyone. I’m glad you agree with me on the romance b/w Adam and Juliette. It’s too sudden and not that believable.

      Ahhh Warner!😍 Wait until you read the last two books. You will love him. And yes that quote is from Warner..Chapter 62 to be exact.😉 I can’t wait till you read Unravel Me.😄

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The romance was definitely too sudden. I understand that they know each other but it’s instalove!
        Oh my gosh, I’m so excited. I honestly WANT to fall in love with Warner.
        xoxo

        Like

  4. Great review! I’m hesitant to start this series because of the mixed reviews. But I’m glad to hear the sequel is better than the first book.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 🙂

      Yes the series did get a lot of mixed reviews. However, I would say that if you just want an entertaining read then I would definitely recommend it. I hope you do give the series a try. It does get better in the last two books. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts :)

