Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they provide a topic, and you choose ten books that answer that topic. This week’s topic is top ten hyped books I’ve never read.

Before I get started, it’s been weeks since I last participated in the Top Ten Tuesday meme. The past topics just didn’t interest me as much. I like this week’s topic so I decide to partake this week’s Top Ten Tuesday.

There are many hyped books that I have yet to read and maybe the reason why is the fact that there is so much hype that I have this fear that I will just be disappointed. Regardless, if the story piques my interest I will probably read it. This list was actually quite difficult to compile because it seems that I’ve missed out on a lot of well-known books due to my stubbornness to read them.  When a book gets so much hype, I am just not as eager to read it. But that’s just me. Nevertheless, some on the list I do plan to read. Anyways on to my list. In no particular order:

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott-Fitzgerald

I’ll start with this classic, The Great Gatsby. For someone who has a love for classic literature, it still boggles me as to why I have not read this one.  Even my non-reader friends have read this, though, they were the unfortunate souls  who had to read it for English class. The reason why I haven’t picked it up is the fact that I’m just having a difficult time trying to pick it up (if that even makes sense to anyone).  Don’t worry for The Great Gatsby lovers, I’ll read this someday. 😉 And no, I will not use the excuse of watching the movie because as much as I love Leonardo DiCaprio, I actually haven’t watched the film.


Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

This one is not even because of the hype. I’ve been meaning to read the series for awhile now after reading the synopsis. An assassin as our main heroine, how awesome is that?! I actually just want to own the books first and start reading them.


To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Truthfully this book doesn’t interest me one bit. I like contemporary young adult romance, but this one just looks meh. I liked Jenny Han’s The Summer series, but the plot for this book seems dull.  Furthermore, after reading reviews for this book, I was actually quite put off. Me being such a critical reader, who analyzes everything, this book I already know will  probably not be for me.


The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

I’ve owned this book for several years now, but for some reason, just like The Great Gatsby I’m having difficulty picking up.  Every time I grab the book from my shelf, I just stare at the cover page in contemplation whether or not I should open the book….


An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Don’t worry dear friends, I am actually going to read this one. I mean the cover and the title alone got me. Just like The Throne of Glass series, I’d just like to have a copy of my own before I read it.


Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

I’ve heard some great things about this series so I’m definitely looking forward to reading the books. And we get a kick-ass heroine…that’s all I need.


 The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

I’ve heard there is going to be a film adaptation, so might as well read it before the movie comes out, that way a year from now I wouldn’t be so surprised when my friends recommend me to read the book… 😉 HAHA


 Ulysses by James Joyce

I just don’t want to bother with this one. Stream consciousness writing….I’ve already had that experience with William Faulkner. No, thank you Ms.Joyce.  I’m sure there are those who love you, but I’m afraid I won’t be one of them.


 The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak

I know I’m going to get a lot of flack for this or at least people questioning why I haven’t read it yet. Wait until you read the last one on my list. It just doesn’t pique my interest. I think it’s one of those books that is receiving a lot of hype and I’m just being so stubborn on not wanting to read it. I think it will take a while until I will be interested enough to read this.


  The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare

Surprised? I know I’m going to catch hell for this, but I just can’t get into the series. I will admit I did read the first book, but can’t bring myself to read the rest. I wasn’t impressed. Truthfully, I am actually more interested in reading the Infernal Devices than this one. However, now that there is a TV show adaptation for the series, I may just give it another try. I hear that after book three it doesn’t get any much better, so that’s another reason as to why I’m even more hesitant to give it another chance.

Are any of these books in your list? Feel free to comment and share.  Have a great day everyone. 🙂

46 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

  1. Nice List! And welcome back to Top Ten Tuesday. I was contemplating taking a break from it too, since, like you said, the topics were lacking my interest. The Great Gatsby is worth the read. I never had to read it for a class, but ended up reading it twice on my own. Daughter of Smoke and Bone is a popular one for this list this week. It’s a great read! I’m currently working through the final one in the series. I don’t blame you for not wanting to read Ulysses. I read it for a class and it was like trudging through quicksand. A total waste of my time. I do, however, recommend The Book Thief. It’s actually really good. I haven’t read The Mortal Instruments either, and don’t know if I will. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 🙂

      Everyone seems to love The Book Thief. I might as well read it soon. 🙂
      The Mortal Instruments is hard to get into. I read the first book, but I was forcing myself to finish it. It has a lot of hardcore fans, but I don’t see the appeal with the series.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yea, I keep putting off reading it. There are just too many other books I’m dying to read and The Mortal Instruments keeps getting pushed to the backburner since I’m still on the fence of whether I’ll like it or not.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I feel the same. I think there are just too many other great books out there that are more worth my time reading. Hopefully we will get a chance to read it someday…. just not now.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I listened to the first three Mortal Instruments audiobooks, and they were pretty good, but I haven’t managed to get myself to listen to the fourth book. (I have a thing about continuing the series the way I started, and I started off listening in while driving to work.)

    The Book Thief was amazing. Again, I listened to the audiobook, which was so well read! I listened to the last bit sitting in my car at the end of the drive home and just bawling.

    I HAVE to read the Throne of Glass series. I enjoyed ACOTAR so much that I know I’ll love anything Sarah J. Maas throws at me. I’ve also been meaning to read the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series and An Ember in the Ashes. (It looks like that’s the first book I’ll be reading for the Make Me Read It read-a-thon!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t read ACOTAR but everyone has nothing but great words for the book. It makes me eager to want to read it as well. Hopefully it lives up to the hype. 🙂

      Like

    1. Aww..I hope it will not make me so emotional that I end up bawling my eyes out. HAHA I’ll try to read it as soon as I can and same goes for The Great Gatsby. Though I may start with The Great Gatsby since it’s much shorter. 🙂

      Like

  3. I’ve also yet to get into City of Bones. I’ve had the first book for years and haven’t read it. The thing is, I’m interested. Not a lot, but I am. I really want to read Infernal Devices, but would feel wrong if I didn’t read the others first.

    I didn’t love Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Let me rephrase, I loved the two thirds of the first book and was meh about the rest. Didn’t hate it, but didn’t love it. I just never got invested in the romance.

    Like

    1. Same here! I’d rather read Infernal Devices. I own the books, but haven’t had the chance to pick them up, yet.

      Aww I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t like it. I’m like getting different reviews for this series at the moment. They either disliked or liked the series. The plot sounded good so I thought I may give it a try. I guess I will just lower my expectations for this one. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m quite relieved that it is such a short book so I’m sure it wouldn’t be so bad when I do finally get a chance to read it. Ulysses just doesn’t even interest in one bit. I don’t care how much of a classic it is.
      Oh I currently own The Canterbury Tales, though I haven’t read it yet. I hope it’s good. 🙂

      Like

  4. Daughter of Smoke & Bone is fantastic! I haven’t read the last book yet, but the first two are pretty great. Also, Throne of Glass is very good as well. I hope you get around to reading them!

    As for To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, I can totally understand why you’re hesitant to pick it up. I quite liked it; it was light and entertaining, but the sequel really put me off, so I wouldn’t necessarily recommend the first one either. Great list! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 🙂

      Oh my goodness I hope so, too especially with my never ending TBR list. HAHA

      Maybe if I’m in the mood for something light and entertaining then I may just consider it. I just have to remind myself not to be so critical when I read it. 😉

      Like

  5. Great list! I loved The Great Gatsby and The Book Thief, each a great piece of work. I could have added my whole TBR list and it still would be enough books to add to this 😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 🙂

      So I’ve noticed from all the previous comments. I’ll be checking them out as soon as I can and see for myself. 🙂

      Haha tell me about it! I’m the same way. There’s so many on my TBR list that could have made it on this list.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I personally loved the entire Mortal Instruments series. It could have been because I read it when I was quite young, maybe 14 or 15 years old.
    I’m so excited to see what you think of the Throne of Glass series, its personally one o+ my favourite series of this year.
    I feel EXACTLY the same way with The Da Vinci Code and The Great Gatsby. I own both, but can’t get myself to pick them up! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Everyone has different opinions. 🙂 I totally understand where you are coming from in regards to The Mortal Instruments. There are people I know who love the series. I guess it’s a matter of preference.
      Everyone has nothing but great words for The Throne of Glass series so I’m hoping I will like it, too! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. If you haven’t read any of Dan Brown’s work before I would actually recommend starting with Angels & Demons before the Da Vinci Code. It’s the prequel (though all the books in that series can work as stand alones), and I think it’s better.
    The Great Gatsby is fantastic and also is very short so if you have a few hours some afternoon and want to just get to it I recommend just diving in. I know opinions on the movie vary, but I loved it. I think it probably depends on how you feel about Baz Luhrmann movies in genera though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Okay I own that book as well so I’ll take your word for it. 🙂

      As for The Great Gatsby I’ll try to read it as soon as possible. Like you mentioned it’s quite short so it’s definitely a good way to kill a couple of hours of my time. I’ll be sure to watch the movie after I read the book as well. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 🙂

      I’ll definitely try to give The Book Thief a go. I feel like I’m definitely the only who hasn’t read it, and I feel so bad. HAHA

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I also read the first Mortal Instruments book and couldn’t get into it. You are not alone! I tried reading the second one a few times but just wasn’t interested in the story at all, and now it’s been so long that I would probably have to start the series all over again if I wanted to read it.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’ve read half of the Mortal Instrument Series. It was supposed to end in the third book and there was no way I was reading more than three. I liked it.
    Daughter of Smoke and Bone was in my tbr list but after reading a couple of bad reviews I decided not to read them. For some reason I trust bad reviews more than the good ones.
    An Amber in the Ashes is probably the next book I’m reading.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s what I have been hearing. Some people say that it’s hard for them to get into the last three books.

      I quite enjoy negative reviews for books, too.The well-thought out ones anyways with constructive criticism, not the hateful review. 🙂 It makes me even more curious as to why it’s bad, and I want to see for myself if it’s true or not.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I also put the The Book Thief on my list and I was close to putting the Throne of Glass series on my list since I heard so much about it. The Great Gatsby is one of my favorite books so I hope you get a chance to read it but don’t watch the film! It ‘s a travesty. The Da Vinci Code is good but Angels & Demons is better. My TTT: https://cupofteawiththatbookplease.wordpress.com/2015/07/07/top-ten-tuesday-hyped-books-i-never-read/

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I liked the first three Mortal Instruments books but I had to force myself to finish the fourth. I gave up in the middle of the 5th. I liked the first 3/4 of The Daughter of Smoke and Bone but the last bit of it ruined it for me. I haven’t been able to get myself to read the next books. As for the Da Vinci Code, I would highly suggest listening to it instead of reading it. I listened to it and really liked the narrator.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes everyone says that after the third book of the Mortal Instruments, the series goes downhill. I don’t understand why it even has six books. I actually have not listened to an audiobook, but I may just do that with the Da Vinci Code. I don’t know why but for some reason, I just can’t bring myself to read it.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. The Daughter of Smoke and Bone series is amazing. Karou is one of my favorite heroines, and the world needs more Zuzana’s. The 5th Wave is decent, but I’m struggling with The Infinite Sea. No idea why.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve heard the series is great. And reading the reviews for it, makes me even more eager to read it. As for the 5th wave it received mixed reviews. Though, I’m a bit hesitant, I do like the premise so I’ll still read it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  13. An Ember in the Ashes is an amazing book. I read most of The 5th Wave a few months back and can’t wait to see the film. Warning it is a long book to read, so that is why I only read about 3/4 of it lol. I’ve never read Throne of Glass, but after reading A Court of Thorn in Roses I will check those books out as well. BTW Book Thief is one of my favorite books all time!

    Ok I think I will take part in this now lol.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m so excited to read that one. I heard it was supposedly be just a standalone novel, but it was so good that there’s going to be a sequel to it. Well that definitely says a lot. 🙂

      There’s some mixed reviews for the 5th Wave, but I like the premise so I will definitely regardless of the negative reviews that it received.

      HAHA I’ll be sure to check out your post. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Glad to hear I’m not the only one who hasn’t read The Mortal Instruments. As for your other books, I highly recommend Daughter of Smoke and Bone (although maybe I’m not qualified to… I never completely finished it – I just didn’t have free time – but what I read was incredible. I really need to get back to it.). Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. 🙂

      Well I’m glad that there is someone who hasn’t read the series either. 🙂 After reading the first book, it wasn’t as great as everyone made it seem to be, though, that’s just probably me. I really want to read Daughter and Smoke and Bone. It’s been on my TBR for awhile now. I’m still contemplating if I want to buy it or just borrow it from the library.

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts :)

