Book Review: Shatter Me

 Title: Shatter Me

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Genre: Young-Adult, Dystopia, Romance

Publication date: October 2, 2012 (Paperback edition)

Pages: 340 pages (Paperback)

Source: Bought

Rating: 3 stars out of 5

Synopsis:

Courtesy of Goodreads

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior

Thoughts:

Let me begin with the book being labeled as a dystopian novel. Don’t be fooled my friends, but this book is pure romance with “dsytopian” elements. As a lover of the dystopian genre, I was so disappointed. The world-building is nonexistent. As a matter of fact it’s reminiscent to The Selection , because just like that one, it was all about the romance and not enough explanation of how the society came to be. I somewhat wished that some authors would know what a dystopian world really is, because you can’t just label a book a dsytopia when the romance takes a front seat over the actual plot.  While Shatter Me was a fast-paced and somewhat entertaining read, it is not without its flaws, thus, I gave it a three stars.

The writing was what I would call “pretty”.  Ms. Mafi uses flowery language in this book and I did like it, however, there were times that it went overboard and could have been toned down a bit. As for the plot, it felt as if it dragged on. The majority of the book is spent on the romance between Adam and Juliette.

Our main character Juliette I have mixed feelings about. I loved her in the beginning, especially when she disobeys Warner–she’s so feisty and sassy, while in the second half she just becomes a lovesick teenager.  Well she’s a teenager I’ll give her that, but I wasn’t sure how to decipher her character. She’s tough when she interacts with Warner because she hates him, but when she’s with Adam, she seems “weak”.  Adam, the love interest was what I would call dull. Yes he’s very attractive, with blue eyes and dark hair, but his personality is so bland .  Having him first introduced in the book and the first guy that Juliette interacts with, I am assuming I’m supposed to like him and cheer for him to end up with Juliette, but that is not the case. He was typical Mr. Nice Guy. Don’t get me wrong, I love sweet, nice guys in books; however, he was just so uninteresting. I was bored with his character and bored with his romance with Juliette. Warner on the other hand our “antagonist” ( I think he’s really not a bad guy) I really liked. He’s definitely the exact opposite of Adam in the personality department. Of course, I think it’s crazy that he claims to love Juliette suddenly, but I am assuming he knows more about her, for him to feel that way well—unless he really is deranged and obsessed, but let me be optimistic about him! He comes off like a psychopath, and I wouldn’t be surprised if you hate him, but I just have this feeling that there is more to him that meets the eye. He is a complex and mysterious character and I would love to get to know more of him as I read the rest of the series. And yes, call me crazy, but I am rooting for him! As for the minor characters, I liked Kenji. He was funny and definitely there for comedic relief.

Just like any young adult dystopia, there is a romance, and to my dismay it’s insta-love and a love triangle. Even though, Adam and Juliette knew each other from childhood, they never really interacted. So I wasn’t convinced when all of a sudden they start declaring their love for one another.  Sorry, Ms. Mafi the romance feels forced and I’m really not buying it. Furthermore, I found their romance so dull and uninspiring.  I even skimmed the pages that highlighted their lovey-dovey moments. As a matter of fact I felt more chemistry with Warner and Juliette than these two and definitely enjoyed their interactions.

Shatter Me, overall wasn’t a bad book, but it wasn’t impressive either. Minus, the rolling my eyes every time Adam and Juliette says I love you to each other, it had its moments that I found entertaining. It did drag on, however, the ending did somehow redeemed itself and I am looking forward to reading the next book.  I read the book in a day so I would say I enjoyed it, but I expected more, especially with the hype that surrounds this book. Truthfully, this would have received a 2.5 stars, but my fangirling for Warner bumped it to three stars. 😉

Would I recommend Shatter Me? I’m really not sure. This might be one of those books where you just have to read it yourself.

23 thoughts on “Book Review: Shatter Me

  1. In my opinion is an okay book, nothing extraordinary. The first I read this, I was amazed by it but when I read along, the story and characters became dragging. I tried to finish the series, but to no avail. I only read half of Unravel Me, then I stopped. This novel is not exciting enough for me to continue… But I will give it a try again one of these

    Like

      1. The first book just didn’t meet my expectations especially since everyone seems to love it. I know it gets mixed reviews but it still gets praised. I think it could get better, but then that’s just me being optimistic. And the fact that I own the entire trilogy..I may as well finish the whole thing. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

          1. Agreed. HAHA

            Hopefully you will give it try again. If not, it’s totally understandable. Some books just aren’t for everyone. 🙂

            Like

  2. THANK YOU so much for this review. I really needed to read this before jumping into the book! I was anticipating a good dystopian world, so I’m so glad your review cleaned everything up in my head. Now that I’ve read this, I’ll be able to go into the book with my expectations NOT through the roof! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad to hear my review was helpful. Yes it’s best not to go into this book with high expectations. I was that way prior to reading and only ended up being disappointed.

      Happy reading! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been on and off about reading the series; some say it’s amazing (especially Warner), some say they hate it. I’m kind of on the fence about it, but I think I’ll give it a shot.
    I totally get getting bored of Mr. Nice Guy. Those characters aren’t anything special, and they blend together way too much. They’re just plain boring.
    Aagh- Insta love. ‘Tis one of the biggest plotholes a writer can fall into. And a love triangle to boot? Mmm… Now I’m not so sure about reading it.

    Like

    1. You should definitely give it a read regardless of what anyone says. If there are certain aspects in the book that you found unappealing while reading other people’s reviews then I totally understand if you don’t want to read it.
      However, I still think that you can’t really judge a book until you do give it a read. Who knows you may actually like it. 🙂

      Like

  4. First of all, I love the Dan gif, secondly, I really liked this review 🙂 I’m not sure if I will read it or not, but I kind of want to, just because I’ve heard both people who like it and people who don’t.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 🙂

      Don’t let my review discourage you from reading it. I just had high expectations for this book and ended up being disappointed. You should read it and see for yourself. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I see where you’re coming from with this, Juliette definitely comes of as quite weak and needy in this book. However, by the end of the series, she is much different, more stronger, willful, and more sure of who she is. If you stick around to finish the series, I’ll be interested in seeing if you see it the same way! I really liked the second book, but I will warn you that Juliette is very uncertain, shifting back and forth between Adam and Warner. I would say the last book makes up for it though. 🙂

    Anyway, great review, sorry to hear it was disappointing for you, hopefully you’ll enjoy the series more as you read on! ❤

    Like

    1. As mentioned in my review I was really disappointed because a majority were praising it. I had high expectations for this one, but it was kind of a letdown.

      I hope so, too. After reading the ending, I’m looking forward to how the story will pan out. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Well I wouldn’t say I disliked it..I was just disappointed in certain aspects of the book. However, I’m reading the rest of series so I’m trying to be optimistic and I hope it gets better from there. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. The more I read about this book, the more I want to read it just to say that I read it. I want to see how I feel about it! I don’t know how I’d be okay with the lack of world-building, though. In dystopian, I want to know what went wrong in society for this new one to be this way. Hmm. This might be a library choice instead of a purchase. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. 🙂

      I have a huge issue with the lack of world-building in books especially in dystopian novels. I’ve read quite a few YA dystopian novels and the author tends to tell more than show and I don’t really like that. This one was one of them unfortunately.

      And yes, I’d probably recommend borrowing it just to be safe. You can end up buying it, if you like the book. 🙂

      Like

Share Your Thoughts :)

