Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Authors I Want to Meet

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they provide a topic, and you choose ten books that answer that topic. This week’s topic is top ten authors I want to meet.

 J.K. Rowling

The Queen. Who wouldn’t want to meet her?!...(okay maybe people who aren’t Harry Potter fans)


  Oscar Wilde 

Yes I know he’s dead, but some of the authors on this list are deceased as well.  Our conversations would be funny. The man is so clever and witty.


Sarah Dessen

She writes the most swoon-worthy male protagonists in contemporary romance (with the exception of one—because in that particular book I really wanted to throttle him).  Anyways I want to gush and talk to her about that and how much I love Wes from The Truth About Forever. Fangirling over here.


 Mitch Albom

I’ve read the majority of his books and not one has failed me yet. I love the philosophies that he incorporates in his books. I’d like to have deep, philosphical conversation with him.


 Veronica Roth

Ms. Veronica Roth is that one person who seems like she would have an awesome and cool personality.  And I really need to talk to her about Allegiant…I want to know her reasons behind why the outcome could have not been any different.  Regardless, even if disliked the ending, I’d still want to meet her though.


 J.R.R Tolkien 

I want to discuss with him all Middle Earth things related.


 Agatha Christie 

My favorite mystery author. She’s dead, too, but who cares.  We will sit down and have a cup of tea and talk about her brilliance.


 William Shakespeare

Okay, Mr. Shakepeare’s works aren’t exactly my favorites, but I want him to explain everything that he wrote….You know “dumb” things down for me a little bit.  Obviously, my brain can only comprehend so much.  And don’t forget his great puns!


Vladimir Nabokov

Mr. Nabokov seems like a very stern man, but I’d like to have a discussion with him on his brilliant novel Lolita.  I want to complain on how he made me feel pity towards Humbert, Humbert. How?! why?!when he didn’t deserve it!


  John Green

Mr. Green seems like a fun person, and I bet our conversation would never be dull.

Do we have any in common? Leave a comment or link to your post below.  🙂

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Authors I Want to Meet

  1. John Green would be on my list too! I once ALMOST had the chance to meet Veronica Roth at a book convention, but instead there was a hasty note at her booth that she had some other business to attend to and feel free to buy some signed books. Pfft!

    Like

    1. Oh darn!! It would be awesome to have met her. Those signed book should have just been given for free to make up for the fact that she had to leave.

      Like

      1. That’s what I was thinking! Or at least what I would’ve done. But authors go to conventions for profit, right? I think if you can’t put in the time like the others you shouldn’t benefit like them. But maybe I’m being a little harsh considering I don’t like her Twitter description. “I wrote some books ending in gent” sounds cocky to me.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. JK Rowling and John Green would be fun. I’d also be interested in meeting Jane Austen (to see how she really feels about all these adaptations and sudden interest in her work), Stephen King (to find out just what planet all his ideas come from, and if I can visit), and Roald Dahl (same as King…seriously, all his books are winners, from Willy Wonka to Matilda to The Witches). Honorable mentions: Scarlett Thomas, Ransom Riggs.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t officially started making lists for Top Ten Tuesday (although I keep making the virtual ones) and I realised that we have 6 authors in common! Wow! Shakespeare and John Green just about made it to my list as well. But I’d also love to meet Cassandra Clare… she creates her characters so beautifully!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I already met Mitch Albom and I was speechless when I saw him. So I haven’t tell him how super amazing he is. I was starstruck! (This was when he is promoting First Phone call From Heaven)

    Also I want to meet JK Rowling, who wouldn’t? Tolkien also and of course CS Lewis and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. As I think I’ve mentioned, you should have no prob meeting Mitch Albom and enjoying a movie in the same evening. He hosts a monthly movie meetup group hereabouts. But, there is the pesky matter of buying a plane ticket to Detroit. 😉 IDK about meeting Shakespeare, but if you go walking at a nearby castle on a gloomy, misty early morn, you just might meet the ghost of Hamlet’s father.

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts :)

