New Adult Books Mini Review

I’ve noticed that most of my book reviews are either on young-adult fiction or classic books. Today’s post I thought I would do mini book reviews on a few of books that I read in the new adult genre.  And because these are categorized as new adult books there are mature contents (and no, it’s more than just sex) since the characters are between the ages of 18-25, therefore, may not be for everyone.

Note: Click photo for summary, courtesy of Goodreads

.

Title: The Deal

Author: Elle Kennedy

Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary

Publication date: February 2015

Pages: 358

Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5

Thoughts:

Before anything else I realized that on most new adult books, their book covers generally tend to always have a half naked guy showing his abs.  I mean come on.  I’m sure you can get more creative than that.  Regardless of my hatred towards the book cover, this book was such a cute read. I read this in 2 hours.  It was entertaining even with the obvious drama just like any romance book, really. Hannah and Garrett were adorably cute.  Their little banters had me laughing.  However, what I loved this book is the fact that there was no insta-love between.  They literally start out from enemies-to friends-to lovers.  There were some serious undertones that are used too often in books but they were dealt with really well. Hannah and Garret are strong characters and not the typical and used too often “woe is me” kind.  I loved Garret.  He is not your typical dumb jock.  Despite being a player, though he was never ashamed or unapologetic about it,  I really liked the ambiguities and complexity of his character.  His patience with Hannah was endearing.  Overall this was a fun read and probably the best college romance novel I have read so far.


Title: Frigid

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Publication date: July 2013

Pages: 252

Rating: 3 stars out of 5

Thoughts:

You may know J.Lynn/Jennifer L. Armentrout as the author of the young adult fantasy/paranormal series Lux though I have never read them.  She also writes new adult books and Frigid is the first book that I read of hers and was also my very first new adult novel.  I cannot put enough emphasis on how I really dislike the majority of new adult book covers, but the premise made me want to read this book. My favorite kind of romance in romance books are the “friends to lovers” because it’s more believable than knowing someone for only a week. So this book is about Sydney and Kyler who have been best friends since they were little kids and are both in love with each other, though, neither one has a clue about each other’s feelings. I enjoyed the book, but I was annoyed with the lack of communication between Kyler and Sydney, more towards Sydney though. She got on my nerves at times because she is so naive (I mean the annoying kind).  She also overreacts and is too insecure with herself even though she really has no reason to be. The story is very predictable just like any contemporary romance book; and the whole attacker thing was kind of unnecessary, but I guess there had to be something dramatic happening. Nevertheless, I did enjoy Kyler and Sydney together.  The fact that they have known each other forever and have so many great memories and then fall in love, I think that’s really cute.  A short and cute, fun read.


Title: Fallen Crest High

Author: Tijan

Genre: Young-Adult, Romance

Publication date: 375

Rating: 1 star out of 5

Thoughts:

Fallen Crest High is actually a young-adult book with adult themes; however, I’ll just classify it more as new adult even though the protagonists are high schoolers.  This is my first book written by an Indie author and I probably chose the wrong book. Honestly, if it weren’t for Mason, this book would have gotten half a star and that’s me being generous.  This book was a jumbled mess.  There were too many things happening and our main heroine Samantha is not likeable in terms of the actions that she takes.   As a matter of fact the majority of the characters you can definitely hate.  You have the jealous and backstabbing friends, a mom who doesn’t seem to care, and so on.  I didn’t like the plot of the story though I’m not even sure if there was a clear one.  Nothing made sense to me and there were too many loose ends. Goodness these teenagers are demented and need to seek therapy. This book…..

6 thoughts on “New Adult Books Mini Review

  1. Completely agree with your review of Frigid. I thought I was reading about a bunch of 16 year olds and not 22 year olds. I agree that the attacker part wasn’t necessary but, it gave me something to focus on other than lack of communication between the two.

    I’m dying to read The Deal, it’s been patiently sitting on my Kobo.

    I immediately put Fallen Crest High on my “pass” list as soon as I read the description and I’m glad I did because your review confirmed all my suspicions.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely recommend The Deal. 🙂 As for Fallen Crest, it did start out okay and seemed promising, but for some reason as I kept on reading it just got bad. This book overall was a hot mess.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have recently been getting into the new adult genre so I’m always looking for new ones to check out 🙂 I really, really want to read The Deal. This is the third really good review I’ve read, you’ve officially convinced me. I personally really liked Frigid but I agree that communication definitely wasn’t the couple’s strong suit! Loved this!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 🙂 Yes you should definitely read it! It’s by far my favorite new adult book. And once you get the chance and finish it, you should also read The Mistake, the second book in the series. That one is good, too.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh gods, I’m sorry you had to push through a 1-star book! (Why am I sorry I have nothing to do with it? I guess I just feel bad.) I’ve never read any NA but I did notice the abs-filled covers or two people kissing. But the first one sounds interesting. I mean, an unapologetic player is not often seen. And I, generally, like my characters with layers.

    Like

    1. Actually, one of the reasons I love New Adult novels is the character layers. Now, not all New Adult books have those layers; but the really good ones have complex characters with solid back stories (and they tend not to have so many abs on the cover ;))

      Like

Share Your Thoughts :)

