Book Review: Ruby Red (Spoiler)

Title: Ruby Red

Author: Kerstin Gier

Genre: Young-Adult, Romance, Fantasy, Historical, Time Travel

Publication date: May 2011

Pages: 336

Source: E-book

Rating: 3 stars out of 5

Synopsis:

According to Goodreads

Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!  Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon–the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.

Thoughts:

So this book is about Gwyneth who finds out that she’s the one who carries the time-travelling gene, and not her cousin Charlotte.  With such an intriguing plot about time travelling I had high expectations, although, it fell short.  This book is all FLUFF and lacked complexity when it came to the characters.  The book was fast-paced and I read this in a span of two hours.

I gave a rating of this book a 3 stars because the premise of the book did intrigue me and I was curious of what would happen as the story progressed.  I’d say that Gwyneth is a tolerable heroine.  She actually reminds me of Sophie from Hex Hall with her sarcasm and moments of just being an airhead, which I didn’t mind because it was great for comic relief. If you like sass and feisty when it comes to your heroines, then this book may be for you because Gwyneth is a perfect example, though she sometimes comes off as incompetent.  Lesley, Gwyn’s best friend is awesome and she has so much spunk.  She’s the kind of best friend that I would love to have. Charlotte on the other hand, her cousin, was just the bitch because obviously there had to be one.  As for Gideon, the love interest he’s the good looking one but comes off as arrogant and really condescending when it came to Gwyn which pissed me off.  It wasn’t until towards the end that I ended up liking him, although he’s definitely someone that you need to watch out for.  There’s definitely more to him than what he’s showing.  However, my issue was the fact that it was insta-love between Gwyneth and Gideon.  You can not just go kissing someone after two days of knowing each other especially when you didn’t exactly “like” each other at first and Gideon calling Gwyn “not his type.”

Nothing extraordinary or out of this world happened in this book, but I loved the concept of time travel and as a reader I clearly knew what the objective is.  There is nothing confusing and it is very straightforward so that made it easier to read through.  The writing was simple and I feel like it’s really targeted for young teenage girls and I mean young, and not in the “young adult” category.  This may be due to the fact that the book was originally written in German.  Nevertheless, it does not change the fact that I will read the rest of the series because I’d like to know what will happen since there are more secrets that needs to be revealed. I’d definitely like to learn more about Paul and Lucy because their characters are just so mysterious.  And the ending of the book was definitely a “WTF” moment because it ended so randomly.  Obviously I have to read the next book to know what will occur where the first book left off.  Overall, if you just want a light read for a good two hours with a premise that may be captivating, then this book may be for you.  On another note, I watched the film adaptation with English dub and can I just say

 I would have preferred subtitles.  Nevertheless, I thought it was good despite the little changes made.  Moreover, Gwyn and Gideon were cute together which helped since I am a sucker for romance movies where the actors actually have great chemistry on screen.

13 thoughts on “Book Review: Ruby Red (Spoiler)

  1. I actually quite enjoyed this book, I’m sorry to hear it fell short of your expectations. Although I do understand why it did. 🙂 Wow, I didn’t even know there was a movie! I’m probably gonna check it out, if only to criticize it (though I hope I enjoy it). I enjoyed your review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was disappointed but I definitely don’t hate it. It was a cute, fun read 🙂 I just finished the sequel right now and I’d say the first one is better though. I can’t wait to read the last one and finally have all my questions answered. And yes I recently discovered the movie and watched it a couple days ago. The second film is also out and I believe they’re also making the final one. And thank you. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I had no idea there was a movie…doesn’t sound like I am missing much haha

    I can see why you didn’t love this book. I too was slightly disappointed in the time travel aspect, it could have been much more epic. I can remember finishing this book and flipping the last page and thinking “this is it?!” Then I had to wait a YEAR for the English translation even though it had been out in Germany for quite a while. UGH

    Like

    1. The time travelling part was what really got me to read it in the first place; however, like you said it was a disappointment. I just finished watching the movie a couple days back. I think they’re making movies for all three books. The first two are already out.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great review, i’ve recently bought all three books in the series. After reading your review i might lower it in my tbr, i’m glad you’ve lowered my expectations because i would’ve hated to be disappointed.

    Like

  4. Oh no … You’ve seen the movie. Oh damn. My friends and I were big fans of the Ruby-Red-Trilogy and I stormed out of the theater after watching this so called “movie” – I didn’t know what to do with so much rage and embarrassment…. Just don’t watch them. I love the books but it was a few years earlier that I’ve read them. A little bonus that this book was finally originally German and not badly translated :F

    Like

    1. They also made a sequel and I’m assuming you didn’t watch it.haha It wasn’t that bad but then again I didn’t have high expectations for the film either. I just wanted to see what everything would look like in film version.

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts :)

