Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-award11

Hi fellow book lovers! Looking back at the month of April I noticed that I did not post as much as I usually do. This was due to my busy schedule at work and having to work over time over the last month.  My schedule won’t be hectic this month so hopefully I will be able to post more often. As for book reviews, I’ve just  been on a book reviewing slump for the past few weeks.  I have multiple drafts, but can’t seem to gather my thoughts and write a review.  Hopefully I will be able to get back on that soon.

However, for now, my post for today is another award that I was nominated for by Joey from thoughts and afterthoughts so thank you for the nomination!

These are the five rules to follow:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site.

  2. Put the Award logo on your blog.

  3. Answer the ten questions sent to you.

  4. Make up ten new questions for your nominees to answer.

  5. Nominate ten blogs.

Questions Answered

Did you have a book that meant a lot to you as a child?

There is no one particular book that meant a lot to me when I was younger because honestly all of them did.

Is there any author or book that you collect and will always welcome multiple editions of the same title?

Definitely all of my favorite books, but I would love multiple editions of the Harry Potter series because as you know I am huge Harry Potter fan.

Say that you find yourself judging a book by its cover (not that we ever do that!); what sort of covers do you go for? Are there any that are an absolute turn off?

I’m actually the judge a book by its cover kind of girl ( I mean come on, aren’t we all?!) I go for covers that appeal to me visually and those covers are usually the “pretty” ones or something in the cover that looks kind of odd, yet intriguing at the same time so you just have to grab it and see what the book is all about. Other than the cover, the title of a book also catches my attention.  As for book covers that turn me off, I will be honest and say that I am actually not a big fan of covers that feature real people.  One of the few exceptions would probably be The Selection series by Kiera Cass because the beautiful dresses did make up for it.

If you could pick any imaginary animal to bring home to Mom with an earnest, “Can we keep him??”, what animal would it be?

There’s quite a few I would like to have, but I’ll go with a unicorn.

Look at all that sassiness…

Is there any book to movie adaptation that you simply refuse to watch? No way, no how, you’re not even giving them the opportunity to mess it up?

Absolutely not.  If anything, I’d love to see a movie version of the books that I read and see how it will look.

What is the most unusual book you’ve ever read? (Plot, writing style, chapter layout, etc?)

Naked Lunch by William S. Burroughs. If you think Lolita or A Clockwork Orange is horrible in terms of the themes focused on both these novels, Naked Lunch is far worst.  This book is about drugs (marijuana, heroin, morphine), sex, crime, pedophilia, sadism and all the monstrosities that you can think of as a normal human being.  I found it “unusual” because there is no plot in this book and it’s a bunch of incoherent ramblings.  Apparently the author wrote this book while he was high….so yea that makes sense.  It’s not a book for the faint-hearted.

Is there any book or series that you’ve read that is so totally outside of your normal genre, but you loved it and would recommend it to others as a “take a risk!” type of book?

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov was a book that I considered out of my comfort zone prior to reading; however, after reading the book I became more open to reading books that deals with controversial topics.  I find that I enjoy books that tackles certain subjects that most people would find uncomfortable because I liked my thoughts being provoked and being out of my comfort zone.

Do you have any bookish collections, or anything you covet and hope to someday collect? Candles, artwork, bookcases?

I own a lot of bookmarks if that counts, though I wouldn’t classify it as making a collection.  I’d say my books.  That’s definitely a collection that I have.  I’m going to have my own personal library someday and that’s a goal.  I’ll make it happen!

What book has been on your TBR pile the longest, but you just can’t convince yourself to pick it up?

Dan Brown’s The Da Vinci Code.  I’ve watched the movie and purchased the book about four years ago, yet I still have to read it.  For some reason the other books on my shelf just seems more appealing than this book.  I’ll read it eventually…

You get a $500 gift card for all things bookish – do you run to your nearest bookstore and spend like a fiend? Or do you create pro/con lists (a la Rory Gilmore) to make sure you get just the right & perfect & wonderful bookish things? Or are you eyeing a particularly expensive bookcase somewhere?

Should there even be options?  My rational self would probably list the pros and cons but who said I’m rational when it comes to bookish related things.  My butt is going to the bookstore immediately and I’m going to buy all the books that I have on my wishlist.

I have no clue who has done this award so if you’re on this list and you accepted this award already or you don’t participate in accepting awards then disregard.  Moreover, because my mind is so blank right now, I’m just going to ask that you answer the same set of questions that I answered.

So without further ado my nominees are:

abOOkishOwl

Alicia @Caffeine and Books

Alice @alice and the books

analeeluvsbooks

Anne @Anne-thology of Books

Emily @The Diary of a Bibliophile

Erika @Rickus bookshelf

Marie @drizzle and hurricane books

Summer @ XingSings

thewritestuff123

Have an awesome day! ❤

21 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. As always, I really enjoy reading your answers. I loved the Da Vinci Code, it got my into books I call “history with a twist.” Da Vinci Code is so fun because of all the puzzles in it too. I have Dan Brown’s latest book (Inferno) sitting on my bookshelf. I got it when it first came out, but keep putting it aside to read other books. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank You! 🙂 I liked the movie but for some reason it’s just taking me such a long time to get into the book. It’s quite ironic, too because I love history and this is one of the books that should definitely on the top of my list. I’d like to read Inferno as well but I think I need to start on Da Vinci Code first before starting on another one. I read Digital Fortress though. Just like Da Vinci Code, The Lost Symbol and Angels and Demons are still sitting on my shelf waiting to be read. ahaha

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you Erika for nominating me!! I was nominated a while back but anyways, I enjoyed reading your post. I’ve had Da Vinci Code for so long too but it definitely looks good on my shelf even though I also didn’t read it haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg I don’t know why I burst out laughing when I read your comment. More than I should have. HAHA I think it was the glitter and sprinkles part. But yea that would mean they are clean pets! You wouldn’t have to worry about cleaning up after them.

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts :)

