April Book Haul

cooltext117717781708024

My to-be-read pile just keeps on increasing.  I still have hundreds of books on my shelf (physical copy and e-books) that needs to be read and here I am with another big book haul for this month of April. I would also like to say that I am one of those people who will buy two different editions of the same book (i.e hardcover, paperback, e-book).  Moreover, some of the books on this haul I have read, though I didn’t own before.  So behold my book haul (34 in total) for the month. I’d say it’s a little bit of everything.

Vampire Academy series by Rachel MeadeThe Vampire Academy (series) by Richelle Mead  IMG_6395   

  I’ve heard good things about this series and when I saw that the books were on sale I knew I just had to buy.  Twenty-two bucks for a boxed set of the entire series is a pretty good deal in my  opinion.

  The Girl With Dragon Tattoo by Stifg Larson

Having read the mixed reviews on Goodreads this series seems like it will be a “hit” or “miss”.  Regardless, I want to give it a chance.  Hopefully it will not disappoint.

IMG_6398

I recall having Holes read to me by my fifth grade teacher and I really enjoyed the book so I knew I had to buy it. I would say Leviathan by Scott Westerfield was one of those books that piqued my interest due to its book cover.  I mean it looks so cool!

 IMG_6410Miss Peregrines’ Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Brig
The Tale of Desperaux by Kate DiCamillo
13 Little Blue Envelopes by Mauren Johnson
Golden Compass by Philipp Pullman
Leviathan by Scott Westerfield
Holes by Louis Sachar

IMG_6403   I bought Michael Chrichton’s Timeline, and ended up not finishing it because it was boring.  Hopefully State of Fear doesn’t leave with me a similar feeling.

 State of Fear by Michael Chrichton
Full Dark, No Stars by Stephen King
Jester by James Patterson
Violets are Blue by James Patterson

 IMG_6401With the exception the Gallagher series by Ally Carter these books all had movie adaptations.  The only ones I haven’t watched among them is Water for Elephants and One Day.  I thought the movie adaptation of Memoirs of a Geisha is as equally as good as the book; though I definitely cannot say the same for The Notebook (the movie was better!)

I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You by Ally Carter
Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden
Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
       Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
One Day by David Nicholls
The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks

 IMG_6404  A Christmas Carol has been on my to-read-list for a long time now so I was super excited to get a hardcover edition of the book for only a dollar at the thrift store.  Other than the original story there are also bonus short Christmas stories in the book.

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens 
World Without End by Ken Follett
  Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell

IMG_6402

I own three versions of And Then There Were None (hardcover, e-book, and now this paperback)  It’s one of my all-time favorites so I obviously had to get more than just one copy. That goes the same for The Five People You Meet In Heaven in which I had the paperback version first then I saw a cheap hardcover version so I knew I had to buy it. I also added a nonfiction book to my purchase written by Malcolm Gladwell.  I read Blink but I didn’t like it. I hope Tipping Point is better this time.

The Five People You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom
And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
The Mysterious Affairs Styles by Agatha Christie
Tipping Point by Malcom Gladwell
The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls
33 thoughts on “April Book Haul

  1. Wow, a lot of good books in your haul! Looking forward to see what you think of the Millennium series (I really enjoyed the first one, but not so much the later two) and The Glass Castle. 🙂 I remember reading Holes around the fifth grade too! It’d be interesting to reread it now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hit the jackpot this month!haha I can’t wait to read this series. It seems that people have enjoyed it despite the mixed reviews that I read in regards to the books.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gosh, I’m so excited for you Erika! The Glass Castle is my favorite book I’ve read this year, and VA series is the best vampire series out there (in my opinion)! I’ve read a good many from this haul, awesome picks!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank You Summer! 😀 I’ve been wanting to read The Glass Castle for awhile now but I wanted to own it first.haha Same goes for The VA series. I’m definitely excited to read them!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I hope I will like them as well. Seeing that everyone has good praises for The VA series I’m sure that it will not disappoint. 🙂 I liked this edition of The Golden Compass as well. I only got it for like a dollar while thrifting so you could say I got lucky.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve read a few of these and enjoyed each one that i read. One I didn’t expect to like was Miss Peregrine’s, but it was a good story and quite well-written. Ditto for Water for Elephants. As for Gone With the Wind, it’s a classic but not too historically accurate. And by way of name-dropping, I had the briefest of convos with Mitch Albom the other night. He hosts a monthly movie night here in Detroit; the flick was Age of Adaline.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh that’s wonderful! Mitch Albom is one of my favorite authors so I’d say I’m a little bit envious. haha Though Gone With The Wind may not be historically accurate, I hope it’s well-written enough to make up for it.

      Like

Share Your Thoughts :)

