Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite Authors

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they provide a topic, and you choose ten books that answer that topic. This week’s topic is your top ten favorite authors.

 Truthfully I’m more of a fan of books in general than the actual authors.  So I don’t really have a “favorite author”.  However, I will still list authors that I do enjoy reading maybe due to their writing style, their ability to hook me in with their story, or they write books of a certain genre that I really love.  Arranged in alphabetical order here are some authors who’s works I enjoy reading.

Mitch Albom:

For great philosophy and inspiration on life in general, Mitch Albom is my go-to author to read. Even though his books are often short in length, the quality is always good.  I am always in deep thoughts after reading a book of his.

Must Read:

  

Agatha Christie

She is by far my favorite mystery author.  She weaves a wonderful set of mystery within her story.  I love that even when you think you have it all figured out, you end up being wrong.  Despite the many different characters she tends to use in her stories which sometimes I have difficulty remembering, I love that they are so well-rounded and often have some peculiar characteristics.

Must-Read:

    

Sarah Dessen

Romance novels aren’t exactly on the top of my favorite books to read; however, if I want a really cute book in which romance/family is the main focal point of the plot then Sarah Dessen is my go-to author. Her stories follow the same formula but I never get tired of reading her books.  She also tends to write awesome male characters who you can’t help but fall in love with and wish they existed in real life (Okay maybe with the exception of one….)

Must Read:

  

Abbi Glines 

If I’m in the mood for a new adult book, Abbi Glines is definitely one of my top authors to read in the new adult genre.

Must Read:

Vladimir Nabokov

If you want beautiful prose, Nabokov is the author for you. I absolutely adore his writing style.

Must Read:

George Orwell

I have such great respect for George Orwell as an author.  His novel, 1984 is the main reason why I fell in love with the dystopian genre.

Must Read:

   

James Patterson:

James Patterson is such a versatile author.  He writes young-adult books like Maximum Ride, romance like Breakfast at Tiffany’s, however, my favorite of his are his crime/mystery/thriller fiction such as the Alex Cross series.

Must Read:

   

J.K. Rowling 

Two Words: Harry Potter.

Must Read:

John Steinbeck:

I love the themes in all of Steinbeck’s books. His writing style is also very simple, yet creates vivid descriptions in his books that you feel as if you are there in the story.

Must-Read:

  

J.R.R Tolkien

I just finished reading The Hobbit (which I loved) and I just wanted to say that I cannot wait to start on The Lord of the Rings!! How did I wait so long to read J.R.R Tolkien’s books?!! I know that it’s only one book that I read; however, the moment I read the first chapter of The Hobbit, Tolkien had me hooked in immediately and I love his writing.

Must Read:

Kurt Vonnegut

No author has made me laugh more than Kurt Vonnegut has.  He writes the most peculiar stories with the most peculiar characters. I often find myself making weird expressions and giving the “WTF” look when I read some of the things he writes. They are very odd, yet hilarious at the same time.  Almost all his novels are satire and he often base them off from his own life experience.

Must Read:

   

I cheated by listing eleven, but I couldn’t help it.

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite Authors

  1. Love your picks! 🙂 I totally agree with Christie, Rowling, Tolkien, and Steinbeck. I haven’t read any of Sarah Dessen’s novels. But, I recently picked up “This Lullaby,” which I can’t wait to read.

    Like

    1. Thanks Emily! 🙂 This Lullaby is great. I hope you will like it. However, The Truth About Forever is still my favorite among all Sarah Dessen’s books.

      Like

  2. We read Lolita at my book club and half the people hated it for the protagonist. I was among the 50% who appreciated it for the prose style.
    Since you like beautiful prose, mystery, and description, have you tried Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon? If not, I’m betting you’ll like it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is an awesome list – I wish I would’ve thought of James Patterson for my own list. Like you said, his books are so versatile and there’s a little bit for everyone.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Awesome list!! So many authors on here are favorites of mine as well. Christie, Steinbeck, Vonnegut, and the guilty please, Sarah Dessen. Love how well rounded this list is with some classics and contemporary novels!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts :)

