Why You Should Read Classic Literature

I’m actually not a very picky reader. I read all kinds of books so I don’t narrow my preference to one kind of genre.  Therefore, for today I will give reasons why I think and recommend that you should read classic literature.  I love classics  and some of my favorite books are from that genre—1984, Animal Farm, Pride and Prejudice, Jane Eyre, To Kill A Mockingbird, The Handmaid’s Tale, just to name a few.

Reason 1: Challenges the Brain

I love a challenge and am always up for it.  Some classic literature are just not that easy to read and comprehend (i.e Shakespeare).  I will admit I was frustrated reading Shakespeare in high school and honestly I don’t think I will ever read one of his works ever again, but during those times, I was eager to understand as much as I can.

Reason 2: Improve and Expand Your Vocabulary

When I started reading classics I encountered some words that I have never seen/heard or is rarely used in every day conversations.  As a result I found myself taking out a notebook making a list of those unfamiliar words and afterwards looking in the dictionary for meaning.  I like the fact that I was able to utilize those learned new words in my essays, reports, and in conversations–to the point where some of my friends have given me weird looks for it.

Reason 3: Learn About the Past

Classics teach you about history—whether it’s Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby or George Orwell’s Animal Farm while also keeping you entertained at the same time…well maybe not always….

Reason 4: Classics Offer Insight and Value

With their typically universal themes, classics have stood the test of time.  Every time I read a classic I always find myself learning something new and valuable.  They offer so much insight, have so much depth, and are almost always thought provoking.  I mean there’s a reason why we analyzed them in English or Literature class.

Reason 5: They’re Cheap

Compared to most books, classics actually tend to be cheaper.  So if you’re frugal, when it comes to books, you will most likely find a classic novel under $10 bucks at the bookstore. On another note I remember feeling so ecstatic when I purchased The Scarlet Letter and The Picture of Dorian Gray for only a total of eight bucks—and they were brand new too!

Reason 6: They’re Free 

Since most classics are actually in the public domain, you can download them for free. Nothing is better than free books, right?

Reason 7: Almost Always Available at your Local Library

I hate being on a wait list at the library for books that everyone wants to read—popular fiction.  Naturally, you will have a better chance of finding really old books.  As a matter of fact the library that I go to has an ample amount of classic books and they have multiples copies too! No wait list for me.

Reason 8: It’s Always Quality Reading

It’s a classic for a reason. The ideas and the story has endured  many decades or even thousands of years.  You can be assured that when you’re reading a classic, you’re reading something of quality.

Reason 9: Movie Versions

I am well aware that right now the most popular movie adaptations of books are from the young adult genre; however, classics gets movies too!  Some may be really old, but there are also remakes.  Generally, I just  love it when your favorite books gets a film adaptation. (i.e Pride and Prejudice, To Kill A Mockingbird, etc…)

28 thoughts on “Why You Should Read Classic Literature

    1. Awww Summer you are just the sweetest! ❤

      I'm glad we met, albeit, only virtually. 🙂 I'm glad you really liked my "why you should read classics post" since it was one of my favorites to write. 😀 I love classic literature so I'm happy that you can appreciate it, too.

      Thank you for the nomination! 🙂

      Like

  1. I love the reasons which you gave as they really make you want to pick up a classic and start reading. I absolutely loved reading classics as a kid (I know, while everyone else was reading fairy tales, I was reading Little Women, mostly cause it was just the classic I had heard of the most often, I’m weird). But ever since I got introduced to the young adult books, I have no memory of reading a classic book. And after reading this post, I realised like how I have just left these books, when they were the ones who actually got me into reading. 🙂 Yup, I think I am going to try to read a classic atleast now and then,soon enough. 😀 Do you have any recommendations?

    Like

    1. Thank You! 🙂 Little Women was a great book. I read it at a young age too, though I think I should read it again. As far as my recommendations go I definitely recommend The Handmaid’s Tale, To Kill A Mockingbird, Lolita, Lord of the Flies, and 1984 just to name a few. These in my opinion are some of the best that I read. You can always check out the reviews for these books on Goodreads and see if it’s something that you would consider reading. They also have a huge list of classics that you can check out. Hope you get a chance to read one soon.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for your suggestions!! 🙂 I really do think I am going to be reading a classic soon, probably one of which you have recommended. Young adult books are good but they just don’t have the same feeling as classics. 🙂 I am looking forward to reading one soon. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I think that’s probably one of the preconceived notions when it comes to classics….it’s “old” stuff. Give it a chance and hopefully you will like it. If not, then that’s okay too. 🙂 Sometimes certain books aren’t just for everyone.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I would go on Goodreads. They have a long list of classics that you can check out. Here’s a link http://www.goodreads.com/shelf/show/classics to make it easier for you. Some of my favorites include To Kill A Mockingbird, Lolita, Lord of the Flies, 1984, Brave New World, just to name a few. You can always read their reviews and also see if the premise always interests you. Just like any book, certain classics aren’t always going to be that great. Hope this helped. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Ugh, now I feel guilty! I usually don’t enjoy any classics. In fact, I’ve been reading Wuthering Heights since October. Its not that I don’t like it, but I don’t have fun while reading classics and I read for fun…but my mom really wants me to. (She hates modern literature, sadly)
    Are there any classics you recommend for me? Thanks!
    –Silanur

    Like

    1. I read Wuthering Heights but it’s not a personal favorite. I know that classics can be difficult to get into but there are really great ones. I mean I also read ones that I thought was really boring and had difficult time finishing. It will just depend on what type you would like to read. Some of my recommendations would be To Kill A Mockingbird, 1984, Lolita (though the concept may turn you off..but I promise it’s a really good book!), The Handmaid’s Tale. You can always check Goodreads for the premise and reviews.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Love your points! Especially #4 because you are right, most classics have original themes and are often very thought-provoking. I actually recently took a liking to reading classics instead of YA novels. I find that most of the latter these days are about teenage romances. Also, I’m a teen myself so it’s very uninteresting to read stories about teens as well. I wish more teens would read classics..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank You! I’m glad that you like reading this genre. Usually teenagers, not all but tend to dislike reading them especially when they have to read it for English class. I do know what you mean in regards to YA novels. I do enjoy reading them, but I think contemporaries just pale in comparison to classics when it comes to quality writing.

      Like

  4. Never say never about Shakespeare. Give him a try again in a few years. The language can be a pain, but you come across some of the most beautiful passages in English Lit.

    Come, gentle night, come, loving, black-brow’d night,
    Give me my Romeo; and, when he shall die,
    Take him and cut him out in little stars,
    And he will make the face of heaven so fine
    That all the world will be in love with night
    And pay no worship to the garish sun.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I really love this post! We often get caught up in the contemporary genre. In fact, I know quite a few people that only read contemporaries. So, it’s great that you are advocating the value of the classic genre! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Emily. 🙂 I know what you mean. There are people who absolutely refuse to read a book in this genre. I’ve noticed among my friends, that after reading classics in high school they refuse to read them now. They always say it’s boring and complicated to read. As a matter of fact I actually started liking classics after reading some in high school. I guess it’s just not everyone’s cup of tea, but there are really great classic books out there.

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts :)

