The Ultimate Book Tag

i've been tagged

Hello dear fellow bloggers. So I was tagged by the awesome Summer @ xingsings to do this ultimate book tag.  I love doing these kinds of posts. Anyways, on to the questions….

1) Do you get sick while reading in the car?

There’s three things I do while I am in the car. 1) I take a nap (if I’m not driving and if it’s a long car ride)

2) I blast on the music, sing like nobody’s business even though I know I am out of tune (when I’m driving and if I’m the passenger)

3) I am the one who’s driving so my hands are occupied behind the wheel. So to answer the question I actually don’t read in the car, therefore, I don’t get sick. However, I can read on the plane and on public transportation.

2) Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

I can definitely think of a few. They may not be unique to most people, but for me personally they are.

–Kurt Vonnegut: His books are mainly focused on his own personal experiences and he explains them in the most peculiar manner. I’m currently reading Slapstick right now and this book is pure comedy for me, though the intention is really not for comedic purposes.

–Ernest Hemingway: Okay…Hemingway’s writing is known to be very direct and his utilization of simple words. But one thing I noticed from reading his books is that the man, at times loves his run on sentences and conjuctions. It may not apply to all his books, but that’s what I noticed from the books that I read of his.

–William Faulkner: Faulkner’s writing is descriptive with use of “flowery” language and at times can be complicated. I will admit I personally did not like The Sound and the Fury.

–Vladimir Nabokov: Read Lolita and you’ll know what I mean.  Beautiful prose… I love his writing style.

–William Shakespeare: Need I say more? The man gave me hard time in high school. But honestly, he’s probably the one with the most unique writing style.

3) Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

I’ll just use this photo….

4) Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (besides books)?

No I don’t, however, I do use a purse. Other than a book or two, I have my car keys, my wallet, hand sanitizer, lotion, sunglasses, a water bottle, phone, gum, and chapstick.

5)Do you smell your books?

Like bury my nose kind of smell, then no I don’t. I like the smell of books, but I don’t go on my bookshelf and just randomly grab a book and start smelling it.

6) Books with or without little illustrations.

I am actually a visual person, so sometimes I do prefer illustrations especially if I was reading a fantasy novel! As much as I like imagining the different creatures in the fantasy world, I’d rather see a clear illustration. However, I’m fine without, since I believe that you should only have illustrations when necessary. Take mangas and comic books, for example.

7) What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?

I can’t particularly name a title. However, I can say that some of the young adult books that I thought were amazing when I read them as a teenager is something that I now constructively criticize for lack of quality writing.

8) Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

Well this isn’t funny but I remember when I was 11, I bought a copy of  Great Expectations (well my mom paid for it) because the edition that I saw at the store had a young boy and young a girl in the cover, obviously Pip and Estella (I didn’t know that time and I had no clue that Charles Dickens is a well-known author and about this book).  I honestly just based my purchase on the book cover itself without really even reading the synopsis. I thought it was going to be a children’s book! So I read it and 50 pages in I got bored…….I gave up reading it and it sat on my bookshelf for a couple of years or so until I finally gave it another try. The second time around I did finish it.

9) What is the tinniest book on your shelf?

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint Exupery

10) What is the thickest book on your shelf?

Looking at my bookshelf it’s between The Bible and Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett. 1

1) Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

I actually never aspired to be a writer so no I don’t see myself as an author. I am more of a reader. The only writing that I’ve ever really done are essays and research papers for school and of course blogging. I’ll let these talented writers do their thing and I will just be the one admiring their work.

12) When did you get into reading?

I was already an avid reader growing up. My mom bought me fairy tale books when I was 5 years old and that’s when I really started reading, though I learned much earlier. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett was my first full length novel as a kid.

13) What is your favourite classic book?

Uhhhh…..Lolita, To Kill A Mockingbird, Jane Eyre, Animal Farm, 1984,  Lord of the Flies

14) In school what was your best subject Language Arts/English?

It wasn’t my best subject, but I definitely passed with flying colors.  My best subject was History, especially American History.  This may make me sound rather boring, but I actually find history interesting.  I remember I use to discuss World War II with my old World History teacher because, well she loves history!

15) If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated, what would you do?

I’d politely accept it and *gasps* I’ll actually keep it.  The person gave it to me and I would hate it to give it away.  And I’d love to add it to my already growing collection, regardless, of my opinion on it.

16) What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?

I have a ton of drafts; however, I have a hard time finishing them. I have a few book reviews to write, but I’m having writer’s block right now and having a difficult time to gather my thoughts and writing an opinion.

17) What is your favorite word?

I know it just says one but I’ll list a few: gargantuan, onomatopoeia, woebegone, shenanigans, and labyrinth.

18) Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

I actually had to Google all three of these words in order to know the difference. I’ll probably say I’m a nerd……definitely a nerd.

19) Vampires or Fairies? Why?

Can I be both? Like a vampire fairie..Is that even possible?

20)Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

A shapeshifter with angel wings.  That would be pretty awesome.

21)Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

A spirit.  Professor Lupin’s transformation looked too painful…I’ll past. The whole paranormal thing also intrigues me.

22) Zombies or Vampires? Why?

Being a zombie doesn’t appeal to me in any way so definitely vampires.  Does anyone watch The Vampire Diaries?  It’s one of the main reasons why I’d rather be a vampire.

23) Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

I’m okay with whatever to an extent, mainly on love triangle. As a teenager I will admit that love triangles was one of my favorite tropes; however, I grew past that and now only find them tolerable when done right.  As for forbidden love this type of romance is rather broad because there are many types of forbidden love (feuding families i.e the famous Romeo and Juliet, racial barriers, vampire-human, social standing differences, incest, step-sibling love, teacher-student relationship, etc…) I’ve only read quite a few with this kind of theme, but if done right then I’m okay with it. I’m really all about the quality regardless of what kind of romance it is.

24) And finally: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in? Either is fine and it will depend on what I’m in the mood for.  All that matters is if the premise pique my interest and if it is well-written.

For this I’ll just tag everyone who reads this post.  So if you like doing these, then please feel free to do this tag.  Have a wonderful day everyone! 🙂

13 thoughts on “The Ultimate Book Tag

  1. Sadly, I haven’t read any Hemingway yet, but I have heard many people tell me about his unique writing style. And hurrah for Frances Hodgson Burnett, I believe the first full length novel I read was A Little Princess. That’s so cool, I wish I was good at history like you! I did fine in the geographies, but I hated U.S. History with a passion in high school.

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts :)

