The Bookalicious Tag

I’m really enjoying doing these book tags.  I have stumbled upon another one which is created by Chapter Chicks on Youtube and I thought it would be fun to do.

1. What percent of books do you get from the library and what percent do you get elsewhere?

0.5% library and 99.5% elsewhere. The last time I borrowed a book from the library was probably a year ago.  And usually if I want a book from the library it’s either already checked out or the available copy is at another library but a far away one.  Nowadays most of my books are purchased from either Amazon (since the closest bookstore near where I live closed down) or I buy them secondhand.

2. What character would you want to be and why?

Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter series.  She’s clever, intelligent, loyal, and so gifted with magic.  And plus who wouldn’t want to go to Hogwarts?!

3. What is your favorite book from your childhood?

I actually have quite a few.  Prior to the Harry Potter books which of course are my favorite series of all time, some of the books that I loved reading during my childhood years were R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps series, Nancy Drew MysteriesThe Babysitter’s Club, Sweet Valley TwinsJunie B. Jones, The Series of Unfortunate Events and any fairy tale books.

4. What is your favorite book?

I honestly can’t pick only one because I know I have more than one.  Among my favorite books include: Harry Potter, The Perks of Being A Wallflower, Lolita, Lord of the Flies, A Clockwork Orange,The Hunger Games, etc.

5. Which book series do you have the most books of?

Okay, I own a few mangas (Japanese graphic novels) and a lot of them range from 15-20 volumes so they’re probably a series that I have the most books of.  However, for most individuals they aren’t really considered “books” so if we’re technically speaking, then the series that I have the most books would be Harry Potter.

6. Do you buy used books or use swap.com?

I actually have never have heard of swap.com until now so that’s a no.  But yes to buying used books. I usually find really good books at my nearby thrift store for a really cheap price too.

7. Who is your favorite/hottest guy or girl?

Four/Tobias from the Divergent series or Wes from Sarah Dessen’s The Truth About Forever.  

8. What is your favorite book cover?

I don’t have a favorite but I will say that a lot of young adult novels have aesthetically pleasing covers (i.e The Selection, The Iron Fey, Shatter Me, Divergent, Legend, etc.)

9. What is your favorite type of book cover?

I am the “I judge a book by its cover” type so basically anything that is visually appealing to me and book covers that actually has something to do with the story.

10. What was the first book you read?

I can’t recall exactly, but it’s probably a fairy tale book like Cinderella and basically anything that had pictures in it or pop-up books (I loved those).

11. What is your favorite book to movie adaption?

Again I can’t just pick one.  I would have to say Harry Potter, Flipped, To Kill A Mockingbird, The Perks of Being A Wallflower, and The Silence of the Lambs.

12. When did you start blogging? (original question was “When did you start making Youtube videos?”)

I started blogging around 2009 but the platform I used at that time was Tumblr.  However, I was pretty much on hiatus for approximately 2 years since I was really busy with school work.  As for my WordPress blog, it’s very recent. I started blogging around the New Year.

13. Where is the best place to read?

I am not sure if there is exactly a best place to read.  It’s different for everyone, but for me I just prefer reading in my bed surrounded by my fluffy pillows.

14. Have you written your own fan fiction for a book?

I read fan fiction on occasion, though, have actually never written one.  When I was about 13 or 14, I attempted to write a story, but totally abandoned it in the end.

15. If you could only read 3 books for the rest of your life what would they be?

Is this some kind of torture because it’s so difficult to just choose three! I’d probably pick Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (favorite from the whole entire series), Lolita, and The Bible.  However, this may be subjected to change because I can just be indecisive sometimes.

16. What is the longest book you have read?

Harry Potter and the Order of Phoenix

17. If you were to write a book what would the title be and why?

Depends on the story I will be writing.  I can’t just think of one right off the bat. I know for sure that it would have to fit the plot and the story itself.  It just can’t be something totally random.

18. How many books did you read last month?

I can’t specifically remember but probably around 10 or 12 books.

19. What is the last book you read?

Other than some fan fiction, the last book I read was The Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa.

20. Do you fantasize yourself in books you like?

Almost all the time, especially when I read the Harry Potter books. I can’t say the same for The Hunger Games though.haha

21. What is your favorite bookstore?

With the evolution of e-books, it’s actually hard to find a bookstore nearby where I live–the closest one in my area, Barnes and Noble is about an hour away. However, my absolute favorite bookstore to go to before it closed, was Borders.

22. Hardback or paperback?

It actually doesn’t matter to me, but paperback is more preferable.  I hate that I have to take the cover off on hardback when I read because it just slips off easily.  And of course paperbacks are much lighter to carry around and cheaper too.

23. Do you have more than one copy of the same book?

Yes, I actually do. I have a paperback and hardback copy of The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown and two hardback copies of Agatha Christie’s Murder on the Orient Express.

24. Would you rather read about vampires or werewolves?

It will have to depend on the content of the book.  I read Twilight (only the first book–I couldn’t go through the rest) which has vampires and werewolves, but I didn’t think the book was good. (Please don’t kill me Twilight lovers…)  I guess it will have to be how well-written it is.  Does the premise pique my interest? Are the characters likeable and do they undergo character development? I’ll be honest here, if there is one thing I hate in books, it’s characters who are one dimensional.  Sometimes, a well-written character can save a mediocre plot.

25. Do you own more than 150 books? if not would you?

Of course–Physical copy and e-books.

These were some fun questions to answer.  So I’m basically just tagging anyone who reads this post.  Enjoy and hope you all have a great day! 🙂

12 thoughts on “The Bookalicious Tag

    1. Haha I was binge reading.I found myself at least finishing a book at least a day or two. And I wasn’t as busy so I had a lot of time to read. It’s not often that I read that much in a span of a month.haha

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts :)

