Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Bookish Problems I Have In My Life

This is a weekly event, hosted by The Broke and The Bookish where bloggers relate their “top ten” of a certain topic.  For this week — Ten Book Related Problems I Have.

1.Book Amnesia: I don’t know about anyone else, but I’m one of those people who read books and after a month or so when I finish it, (especially a series) I will not remember what it is about.

I usually end up refreshing my memory by going on Google or something. And don’t even get me started on the characters. I can guarantee you that the only one I will remember is probably the one who’s name is mentioned in the book so many times.  I think this is an effect when I get too excited reading a book.

2.So Many Books, So Little Time: This is self-explanatory.

3.Reading Too Quickly: I will admit, I am a fast reader. I can usually read up to two to three books in a day.  Although some people think that’s great, honestly it has a downside.  I always feel like I’m just breezing through the pages and usually end up missing important details or parts in the book.

4.Release Dates:  Waiting a certain period of time for the sequel is TORTURE.  And this is my issue with books that are in a series. I hate it when you love a book so much and you will have to wait months or years before the next installment comes out.

5.Lack of Space: I think this is probably everyone’s problem.  There is literally no space for the amount of books that I own right now. My bookshelf looks like it’s about to fall apart, my desk has scattered books everywhere, and somehow even the trunk of my car has become a storage for books.

6.Buying Books and Not Reading Them: I hope to God I’m not the only one because it totally makes me feel bad. I have so many unread books on my bookshelf, which I believe I bought maybe around 3-5 years ago. And it just gets worse because I keep buying new ones, so it just keeps adding to that pile.

7.Friends/Acquaintances Who Doesn’t Show The Same Appreciation: Out of all of my friends I am one of the few who actually loves to read.  So it’s so hard to share the enthusiasm I have when I finish reading a good book. I honestly think they could care less about books. Books are rarely a topic we discuss when we talk; and if we do it’s usually when the book has a movie coming out. On a positive note, I’m the one that they usually ask for book recommendations.

8.Lending Books: Call me selfish, but I hate lending my books (this applies to DVDs/Blurays as well) to anyone because from experience of letting people borrow my things in general, they don’t usually give it back or forget to return them. My books are very special to me, and I like them where they are at….at home, sitting on my bookshelf!  I suggest borrowing them from the library.

9.Book Covers: Remember the saying “Don’t judge a book by its cover.”  I apologize in advance, but I have to say I can be very judgmental.  I just can’t resist a pretty cover!  I almost always grab the ones with a visually appealing cover than the one that is plain and simple.  Although that doesn’t necessarily mean I will buy the book…just the first one that I would check the premise for.

10. People asking me all shocked “You read?”: I get this a lot and it’s annoying. I hate it when people make assumptions that I’m not the type who reads.  I didn’t know you had to look a certain type for you to be classified as someone who loves to read books. And what’s even more annoying is when I tell them yes and they question why, since apparently books are “boring.”

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Bookish Problems I Have In My Life

    1. Yes it usually depends on the books I read though. If it’s really good, I won’t be able to put it down so I just end up reading it all day. But usually the books I read are about 200-300 pages long so that’s how I end up being able to read at least 3 a day. If it’s more than that usually takes me a couple of days are so.I try to slow down but it’s just been a habit reading fast.LOL

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I experience book amnesia for most of the little details; especially if it’s a year+ since I’ve read it. Upon watching the Insurgent trailer, I was questioning so many things and if they did happen. But I’m wondering if that’s just how it is. I mean, with memory lapses and all that decaying information, I guess it’d seem realistic to only remember a small handful of important events but not the gritty details.

    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts.

    Like

  2. Book Amnesia is totally me. It gets me so annoyed that I can never remember even if its books that I absolutely loved. And I constantly buy books and never read them too. I love your post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts :)

