Day 26: Your favorite type of nonfiction book

As much as I’ve read an ample amount of books, I am sad to say that I have only read a few nonfiction books.  Therefore, my options are really limited.  If I had to pick a type, I would have to say memoirs.  Memoirs are almost, always an easy read. What fascinates me about memoirs is the fact that everything is REAL.  You are discovering real things, from real people, real experiences and how they reacted to these situations. They are inspiring and often life changing, and makes you reflect on your own life and your experiences.  As for my favorite memoir I recommend:

Goodreads says: “Night is a work by Elie Wiesel about his experience with his father in the Nazi German concentration camps at Auschwitz and Buchenwald in 1944–1945, at the height of the Holocaust and toward the end of the Second World War. In just over 100 pages of sparse and fragmented narrative, Wiesel writes about the death of God and his own increasing disgust with humanity, reflected in the inversion of the father–child relationship as his father declines to a helpless state and Wiesel becomes his resentful teenage caregiver.”

I read this in middle school, so I was about 13 or 14 at that time, and after reading it, I realize how naive I was (which is reasonable) about life and the things that are going on around me.  I felt foolish, because there I was, complaining about trivial things such as getting an A minus on a test (because that minus really bothered me), my mom not letting me hang out after school, or if my crush thought I was cute….these so called “problems” that I had; but all of those paled in comparison to what the people in the concentration camps endured.  Reading Night, has made me become more self-aware.  It showed me that real life is not always sunshine and rainbows and that the world can sometimes be a cruel place. I had a mixed of emotions after finishing the book.  I was sad for the people who suffered and experienced such cruelty and angry at the world and at humanity in general. I don’t understand how some people could be capable of doing such inhumane acts with no remorse or guilt.  How can you treat your own fellow human being like that? How could those Nazi soldiers just take orders without questions? How can they just kill without even batting eyelash? How? How? I don’t  think there can ever be a proper answer or explanation.  This was an emotionally draining book, and as an emotional person, there were moments, where I found myself having tears in my eyes because it was just too much.  sad animated GIF

I somehow feel relieved, though, that I wasn’t living around that time when this occurred.  But then again, it really doesn’t make me feel any better either, because genocide is still happening.  We have Rwanda, Darfur…and whatever horrible and insane things that is happening in this world— and yet here we are complaining about not having internet/wi-fi or not knowing what to wear…..things that people label as “real world problems”.     

I don’t expect everyone to like the book, but give it a chance.  It’s one of those life-changing books that I believe everyone should read.

5 thoughts on “Day 26: Your favorite type of nonfiction book

  1. I also read this in 9th grade and the teacher mandated us to do a collage afterwards and all those google images really traumatized me. It’s a riveting must-read but it’s so horrifying that I can’t reread it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t think I could re-read it either.And yes!The images from the Holocaust are horrifying and sad at the same time. I can only imagine when you had to put together a collage….To this day I don’t think I can look at the pictures without feeling traumatized as well.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I also watched a documentary of Elie and Oprah revisiting the camp and it made this book stand out even more. I’m glad I watched it because I started to become more grateful and happy for every little moment of my life.

        Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts :)

