Book Review: The Truth About Forever

Title: The Truth About Forever

Author: Sarah Dessen

Genre: Young Adult

Publication date: May 2004

Pages: 374

Source: Birthday present

Rating: 5 stars out of 5

Synopsis:

Sixteen year old Macy thinks shes going to have a boring summer.  Her boyfriend Jason, is going away for “brain camp” and she is stuck with a dull job at the library.  At the same time, she’s still recovering from her father’s recent death.  When her mother hosts a cocktail party, she meets the chaotic Wish Catering Crew. Delia, the owner offers her a job, and unexpectedly, when Jason decides he wants to take a break from their relationship, Macy impulsively takes the job offer. There she meets Wes, the very, attractive boy that no girl could resist.  The two become close friends by playing Truth, an ongoing game in which one player asks a question and the other must answer truthfully.  And as the questions become more personal and revealing, Macy begins to realize that it’s okay to let others see her as she really is, flaws and all.

Thoughts:

There’s just something about romance in the young adult genre that I love.  It’s all the fluff, those sweet scenes that I can’t help but sa-woon (you have to read the book to know what I’m talking about) over and over again.  Okay this was such a cute love story.  There’s nothing extraordinary, plot-wise with this book.  It’s a very common story-line, but what made this book great is the writing and its strong, well-developed characters. I really empathized with Macy, who struggled to be the perfect daughter, but feels small and unimportant in so many aspects of her life. And at the same time, I love her for being so smart and mature and how she developed as a character…her realization that you don’t have to be perfect to live a fulfilling life or live up to people’s standards. Then we have the Wish Catering crew who were so fun and endearing.

And of course there’s Wes.     Handsome and talented Wes. Of all the Sarah Dessen boys, Wes is my favorite. The way Macy described him, you just can’t help but swoon and wished he was real. He is so perfect and ironically, for a perfect guy in a book , he tells Macy, the main character, that perfection isn’t everything. What I also loved about it, is the relationship between Macy and Wes and how it was developed.  It was tender, sweet, and I enjoyed their ongoing game of “Truth”. Their game sessions were some of my favorite parts of the book.  The game went from emotional and healing to fun and flirty. It was a wonderful way for Wes and Macy to get know each other better. Although, I was somewhat a little bit unsatisfied with the ending. I wished Sarah Dessen just added a few more scenes between the two lovebirds.  Overall this book left me with a smile and a warm heart. It’s not just about all the cute romance but also the overall message of the book, so I definitely would recommend it.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Truth About Forever

  1. I loved this book as well, it’s probably one of my all-time favorite ya romances. And I ship Wacy/Mes, like you said, their relationship is so sweet. If you liked Sarah Dessen, you should try Just Listen and Along For the Ride by her as well if you haven’t already. Sadly, I find all her novels to be similar, but those two are pretty good if you want a light read. Thank you for stopping by on my blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay!haha This is my favorite Sarah Dessen novel. But yes, her novels are very similar, but I love reading them when I just want something sweet and cute. I mostly read all of her books, and I recently bought Along for the Ride so I will read that soon. And your welcome! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh good, I really enjoyed that one, hopefully you’ll like it too! You’ll have to tell me how you like it, so we can fangirl together. And it seems like we’re both new 2015 bloggers, yay? (:

        Like

Share Your Thoughts :)

