Day 18: A book that you think is highly overrated.

I read the book for the first time in 8th grade without knowing that it was one of the great literary classics.  The cover and title was what caught my attention and I needed a book to read just for fun so I ended up borrowing it from the library. Three years later during my junior year I had to read it again as part of my English class curriculum, and I was disappointed.  I am well aware that Catcher in the Rye is one of books that majority of readers really enjoyed; however, I  did not.  Everyone whom I have talked about this book has high praises and it’s a must read.eye roll animated GIF

I read it twice and I don’t think I ever will again. Truthfully, I disliked this book.  I did not like Holden. I could not relate to him and I found his character annoying.  Aside from the main character, I have no idea what the book was suppose to be about. The first time I read it I didn’t understand that much (plot-wise) but I decided to finish it regardless. There’s nothing remarkable about this book.  Was I suppose to learn a lesson? Like what’s the message of this book?  Maybe I disliked the book so much that I didn’t bother analyzing it.

3 thoughts on “Day 18: A book that you think is highly overrated.

  1. I haven’t read that book yet, but I totally understand. I was the exact same way with Pride and Prejudice. It was at the most a 3 star read for me but all my friends say it’s their most favorite book ever! I just don’t see it! Lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t read Pride and Prejudice yet but it’s on one of my to-read list. But I know what you mean. Sometimes a book is not as good as everyone makes it to be. I assume maybe because it’s a classic it automatically makes it an awesome book.

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts :)

