Day 10:Name five absolutely great film adaptations of books.

The book is always better than the movie.  It’s a common saying from everyone who read them and watch the film adaptations.  In most cases this is definitely true; however, you can’t really put much blame since there is only so much you can put in a 2 hour film based on a 500 page book. Moreover, if you don’t read the books prior to watching the movie (i.e Harry Potter films) you may be left scratching your head and asking questions as to why something has occurred.  Despite some missed important details there are film adaptations that somehow gave justice to its book versions. Though you may not agree, here are the five film adaptations of books that I thought were good.

Two words: Anthony Hopkins. I guess this has more to do with a great actor portraying Hannibal Lecter. Jodie Faster was great too as Clarice; however, Anthony Hopkins was brilliant in his role.applause animated GIF

If you mention Anthony Hopkins first thing that comes to my mind is Hannibal Lecter.

I’ll be honest.  I actually don’t read a lot of romance novels but Nicholas Sparks has to be one of my favorite romance novel authors. Of all the film adaptations of his books, The Notebook is the most memorable.(Okay A Walk To Remember was great too!) However, I watched The Notebook a few times so it’s on my favorites list. Rachel McAdams and Ryan Gosling had such an amazing chemistry. ship it animated GIF   I still ship them to this day. And I’m aware that the book was a little bit more different than the movie itself.  Actually this is more the case of the movie actually being better than the book itself.

image

One of my favorite books.  It’s probably one of the film adaptations that I thought stayed true to the book.  With the exception of changing some names and very small details it was exactly as how I read it.  And Bryce and Julie’s romance was adorably cute.fangirling animated GIF

My top two favorite Harry Potter film versions of the book.  The rest were okay but I can’t keep count as to how many times I watched these two, especially the first one. minions animated GIF

Okay while writing this and doing a little bit of internet research I found out that a lot of the movies I have watched were based on books without even knowing, and I have yet to still read them. (i.e I Am Legend, Shawshank Redemption, A Time To Kill, The Perfect Storm, Jaws, etc…)  That’s why I kind of had a difficult time thinking of books that had great film adaptations because I either only read the book without the watching the movie which are a lot…or watched the movie without reading the book.

One thought on “Day 10:Name five absolutely great film adaptations of books.

Share Your Thoughts :)

