Day 6: The Best Book You Ever Read Last Year

I didn’t have much time to read for leisure last year due to busy school schedule (senior year of my undergrad study- was piled up with a lot of work)  However, if I had to pick one out of the few that I have read, it would have to be:

Dystopian novels are my guilty pleasure.  I was able to finish the series in a week. I wanted to keep reading even when I told myself to take a break.sleepy animated GIF That is how engrossed I was reading them.  The series takes place in futuristic America in which the western side called the Republic is at war with “the colonies”, the former United States of America.  The two main protagonists, 15 year old June and Day come from two different worlds- June coming from an elite family in one of the wealthiest districts and Day, the most wanted criminal. Their paths cross when June’s brother Metias is murdered, and Day becomes the main suspect.  Eager to find him, it becomes a game of cat and mouse; however, in the turn of events both uncover the truth of what brought them together and the sinister lengths their country is willing to go to keep its secrets.

The series to me is what I would expect from a dystopian novel: good plot (interesting futuristic setting) action-packed, likable characters (strong hero and heroine), and great character development especially for the heroine.  It’s one of those page-turner books even if you want to stop reading, you just can’t.  If I had to rate it, I would probably give it 4.5/5 stars.  I gave it a 4.5 stars because of the rushed love story between Day and June. I don’t think you can fall in love with someone that quickly like they did. On another note, I read somewhere that the series is going to be made into a movie.  Hopefully it pulls through and if it does, I hope the movie does the book justice.

Share Your Thoughts :)

