Day 1 Book Challenge: Your 10 Favorite Books of all Time

Having read quite an ample amount books I had a difficult time choosing and narrowing my list into just ten (add to that I don’t remember half of the titles of the books I read). Regardless, here are my ten favorite books and they are in no particular order.

Disclaimer: Pictures are not mine. Found them on Google.

Yes I am aware that it’s a series but I am huge fan of Harry Potter and I just had to include it. I’ll just count the whole Harry Potter series as one for this list.  However, if I had to pick my favorite book out of all the seven books in the series the third one would be my favorite due to the fact that we’re introduced to Lupin and Sirius (characters that I really liked) as well as learning more about Harry’s parents.  And the Shrieking Shack confrontation is definitely one of my favorite scenes in a book.

Humbert Humbert lusting on 12 year old Dolores!(disturbingly gross, right?!) That was my first thought too when a classmate of mine in high school introduced this book for book sharing in my English class.  Surprisingly, after seeing the book at Borders I decided to give it a try and actually bought the book.  Despite its controversial themes I really enjoyed the book and Vladmir Nabokov’s writing is simply amazing.

Great short read and you can just really never go wrong with reading a Mitch Albom book.

I watched the movie first (which I loved), unaware that it was actually based on a book.  I liked it for it’s cute, lighthearted-romance.

“I think that if I ever have kids, and they are upset, I won’t tell them that people are starving in China or anything like that because it wouldn’t change the fact that they were upset. And even if somebody else has it much worse, that doesn’t really change the fact that you have what you have.”

-Steven Chbosky

I have still to watch the movie but most people say the book is always better than the movie.  Some deep,meaningful quotes made me like the book as well as the narrator, Charlie.

Read it three times…nuff said

It baffles me sometimes when Divergent is compared to The Hunger Games when there isn’t really any similarities between them.(I like both but prefer Divergent more)  Despite the disappointing ending of the series I would have to say one of the best young adult series I’ve read. And I always enjoy reading about kickass heroines.  Oh and I if I could choose which faction I would belong to I’d probably want to be Dauntless or Candor…(and being Divergent is not bad either unless you want to get eliminated)

High schoolers often times complained reading this book as part of their English class curriculum (I will admit I was one of those back in the days)  However, now I take back what I said because this book introduced me to the dystopian world! Besides it’s a classic literature for a reason.

Had to read it twice because I had no idea what in the world was happening the first time I read it.  Good book though.I just noticed with the exception of three books I have yet to watch the movie versions of these books (though the likelihood is probably slim)  Anyways, I read this book in seventh grade and it’s just one of those books that sticks to your mind even after so many years has passed since you read it.

One thought on “Day 1 Book Challenge: Your 10 Favorite Books of all Time

Share Your Thoughts :)

